Results 1 to 10 of 10
  • Thread Tools
  1. New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Tomball, Texas
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Question Can two computers share one Ethernet cable?

    I have one long run of Cat 5e to the far side of my home that needs to be connected to two computers at the end. I understand there are devices that will merge two ports at the switch end and then split two connections at the far end of the cable that can be connected to each computer. I'm told that this set up acts as if there were two cables run (no crosstalk or other interference etc).

    How do I set this up? What kind of adapters / splitters do I need to shop for?

  2. Subscribe to our Windows Secrets Newsletter - It's Free!

    Get our unique weekly Newsletter with tips and techniques, how to's and critical updates on Windows 7, Windows 8, Windows XP, Firefox, Internet Explorer, Google, etc. Join our 480,000 subscribers!

    Excel 2013: The Missing Manual

    + Get this BONUS — free!

    Get the most of Excel! Learn about new features, basics of creating a new spreadsheet and using the infamous Ribbon in the first chapter of Excel 2013: The Missing Manual - Subscribe and download Chapter 1 for free!

  3. Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    9,534
    Thanks
    120
    Thanked 1,073 Times in 988 Posts
    You need a network switch, such as this one: http://www.amazon.com/D-Link-DGS-100...&s=electronics

  4. 2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Northern California
    Posts
    165
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 33 Times in 27 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by chasrome View Post
    I understand there are devices that will merge two ports at the switch end and then split two connections at the far end of the cable that can be connected to each computer.
    I think ruirib must have overlooked the part of your post I underlined above. It sounds to me like you already have a network switch.

    Does this picture help?

    Ethernet splitters are easy to find. Just do a google search.

  5. Super Moderator BATcher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    A cultural area in SW England
    Posts
    2,728
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 96 Times in 90 Posts
    You want a switch at the far end, into which you connect the long ethernet cable and the two ethernet patch cables from your two PCs. Here's a cheap but good 10/100 Mbps one. Of course all the data goes up and down the single ethernet wire, but unless you are streaming data on both PCs you probably won't notice this. (I must say that I've never come across an "ethernet splitter"!)

    Although this doesn't directly answer your question you could think about binning the long ethernet cable and using Homeplug devices instead, which use your mains wiring instead of the ethernet cable to transfer the data. You need one at the router end, and one per PC at the far end (so a total of three in your case). These ones don't need any additional power sockets, since they plug into the wall socket, and (one of) the PC's mains cables can plug into them.
    BATcher

    milliHelen: that quantity of facial beauty sufficient to launch a single ship

  6. Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    9,534
    Thanks
    120
    Thanked 1,073 Times in 988 Posts
    I have never used splitters, I would simply use a switch, as I recommended above.

  7. 2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Northern California
    Posts
    165
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 33 Times in 27 Posts
    I don't disagree with the suggestions to add a second network switch, and in fact that's what I do in my own home office. (OTOH, I need more than just two connections so a splitter wouldn't be a solution.)

    The OP specifically asked about ethernet splitters, so the other replies didn't answer his question. They do work. The caveat is that if the OP eventually wants a third connection in that far location, he would have been better off getting a second switch anyway.

  8. Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    3,147
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 184 Times in 176 Posts
    A cheap switch is cheaper then splitters and easier.

    cheers, Paul

  9. New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    19
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    It is (technically) possible to use just two of the four pairs in a Cat-5 cable to transmit 100Mbps Ethernet - hence you can get two independent Ethernet signals down a single cable. You have two RJ45 sockets connected to one end and two RJ45 plugs at the other.

    Normally, 10/100 Mbps Ethernet uses only the Orange and Green pairs.

    RJ45-pinout.gif
















    The above image shows a 'normal' Ethernet connection

    2 ethernet in single cable.gif

    The above shows splitting the cable pairs between two separate RJ45 sockets. The wiring of the plug ends must match.

    However, it's messy and unreliable. Buy yourself a cheap Ethernet switch/hub.

  10. The Following User Says Thank You to kenredman For This Useful Post:

    dsomerv (2012-05-10)

  11. 3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    228
    Thanks
    43
    Thanked 30 Times in 23 Posts
    kenredman is correct re using a single Cat wire for two separate networkings.
    There does exist 'Y splitter" for Cat5 cable. It looks a lot like telephone 1-to-2 splitter. They are only made in Asia area.
    Essentially, as kenredman already mentioned, only 2 pairs, out of 4 pairs, are being used in 10/100Mbps networking. You can use the 2 unused pair for another network.
    Caution: For 1Gbps networking, all 4 pairs are used. Hence, no more spare wires.
    Another caution: Some off the wall applications may use the spare wire(s) for other connections, such as telephone signal, audio, etc. If you do use an already installed Cat 5 wire, do check it out fully, in case you want to make modifications.

  12. New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Tomball, Texas
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Red face Thank you

    dg 1261 answered my question nicely with the link (picture) he provided and scaisson provided new and good info on WHY one would prefer using a switch instead of a splitter. This is just what I needed to proceed with my project. Many thanks.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •