Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 19
  1. #1
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    27
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    W.7 Reinstallation

    Hi All,

    On my W.XP machine i can reinstall a fresh copy of Windows,

    from within,witout the need for a İnstallation CD.

    Can't the same be done FROM WİTHİN W.7,

    without the need for a CD?

    There must be a way,anyone knows?

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    12,519
    Thanks
    152
    Thanked 1,398 Times in 1,221 Posts
    That doesn't happen even with XP, unless you are using a feature added by your PC manufacturer, that relies on a disk partition. If that didn't happen, you'd need the CD.

  3. #3
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    Create an Image, then update that Image whenever you change something on your OS. This way it only takes about 10 minutes to restore your whole HD, rather than the hours it takes to reinstall and update and customize.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  4. #4
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    27
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    No You are mistaken,i have personally never had to do it,

    however,others did,(successfully)

    and have read step by step instruction

    And no it wasn't a feature added by the pc manufacturer.

    OR rather the pc manufacturer,has simply copied the cd's contents on the drive.

    http://www.wikihow.com/Reinstall-Win...Without-the-CD

    But thank you
    Last edited by mysoul; 2012-05-10 at 08:17.

  5. #5
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    27
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Ted Myers,

    thank you for the reply,

    however i do know that.

  6. #6
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Slough, Berkshire UK
    Posts
    924
    Thanks
    55
    Thanked 52 Times in 50 Posts
    Quick answer is no.
    Clive

    All typing errors are my own work and subject to patents pending. Except errors by the spell checker. And that has its own patients.

  7. #7
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    27
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thank you for the reply curiousclive,

    i believe that there must be.

    We simply haven't found it as of yet.

  8. #8
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    For Win 7 you cannot do it from within Windows, but you can download the Win 7 iso file from Digital River (including SP1), burn this file to DVD and use this DVD to install Win 7 using your valid key.

    The only other way is from a separate Recovery Partition installed by the PC manufacturer to return the PC to a factory install.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  9. #9
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    27
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Yes i know about the W.7 İSO,

    and yes i can recover the pc to factory settings.

    That is not what i'm searching for though.

    Thanks again Ted.

    .

  10. #10
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    As has been stated a couple of times, we do not believe it is possible to start a reinstall of Win 7 from within Windows as it may have been from within XP.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  11. #11
    Super Moderator CLiNT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    California & Arizona
    Posts
    6,121
    Thanks
    160
    Thanked 609 Times in 557 Posts
    Windows 7 does not have a fully intact/functional i386 folder like XP had.
    If you don't have an installation disk I would be scrambling to get that Digital River copy to input your own product key into.
    Last edited by CLiNT; 2012-05-11 at 20:44.

  12. #12
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    27
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    İ do have a W.7 installation disc

    i also have my entire system imaged.

    İ'm not asking because i need it,i'm simply curious.

    İ wouldn't be at all suprised,if someone in the future,

    finds that it is indeed possible.


    Thanks

  13. #13
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    27
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Ted Myers View Post
    As has been stated a couple of times, we do not believe it is possible to start a reinstall of Win 7 from within Windows as it may have been from within XP.

    Your belief and statement has been noted

    Thank you.

  14. #14
    Super Moderator CLiNT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    California & Arizona
    Posts
    6,121
    Thanks
    160
    Thanked 609 Times in 557 Posts
    Yeah, I kind of doubt anyone will figure a way to reinstall Windows 7 the way you have described, it's just too different an animal.
    I know I've done so several times in the past with both Windows 98 and XP.

  15. #15
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    27
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by CLiNT View Post
    Yeah, I kind of doubt anyone will figure a way to reinstall Windows 7 the way you have described, it's just too different an animal.
    I know I've done so several times in the past with both Windows 98 and XP.

    Well you may be right,

    however that remains to be seen.

    Thanks again for your input.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •