Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: New monitor

  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger Not Brightest Bulb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Central IL
    Posts
    376
    Thanks
    69
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    New monitor

    Have a new monitor ordered.

    HP 2511x 25-Inch LED Monitor was wondering if anybody had one. I'm not an HP fan so much because their products usually come with a lot of software, upgrades / updates or just plain pain in the butt stuff. I'm assuming/hoping it's just a plug and play and I do not have to use the install disc they send with it.

  2. #2
    Super Moderator CLiNT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    California & Arizona
    Posts
    6,121
    Thanks
    160
    Thanked 609 Times in 557 Posts
    No, most monitors are just plug and play unless there are specific features that require added programs or drivers. Many monitors will come with a CD/DVD with setup instructions and owner manual.

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to CLiNT For This Useful Post:

    Not Brightest Bulb (2012-05-14)

  4. #3
    3 Star Lounger Not Brightest Bulb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Central IL
    Posts
    376
    Thanks
    69
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    Thank you Clint, I was thinking that was probably the program but thought I would check here. It's been years since I had an HP-PC but I still remember the pre-loaded garbage, of course all PC's are loaded now but I think HP was ahead of the curve. I figured the Monitor would/might follow suit.

  5. #4
    Super Moderator CLiNT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    California & Arizona
    Posts
    6,121
    Thanks
    160
    Thanked 609 Times in 557 Posts
    Yeah, virtually all computer manufacturers will load their PC's with all kinds of stuff you will always find you don't need.That is why building your own can be so gratifying, you get exactly what you want and nothing you don't.

  6. #5
    Bronze Lounger DrWho's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Central Florida
    Posts
    1,501
    Thanks
    30
    Thanked 205 Times in 163 Posts
    I just bought a new monitor myself, but the CD that came with it had NO drivers or any kind, but just a users manual.
    That's been typical, like, forever.

    With a new, out of box, PC, it's not so much just the software you don't need, but the blatant Spyware that comes pre-loaded.
    Weather Bug and Wild Tangent Games are two of the worse offenders. Then sometimes you get Norton, or McAfee, or both.
    It can take as long as a half hour, to just get the garbage out of a new PC before I can even start to install the users software,
    set up their EMail, and tweak and tune the new PC for Max performance.

    The monitor is never a problem, as long as the Video Card is capable of driving the monitor to its maximum resolution,
    or to at least a resolution you can live with.

    Cheers Mate!
    The Doctor
    Experience is truly the best teacher.

    Backup! Backup! Backup! GHOST Rocks!

  7. #6
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Denver, Colorado, USA
    Posts
    126
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    OK, this is a good place to bring up a question I've had today.
    I bought a new ACER monitor that came with a display management utility. It let me do all the resolution, calibration, etc. stuff and save them into a custom preset.
    Of course my XP control panel has its own utility features as well.
    So, I went throught the ACER display management procedure and got the display tuned just the way I wanted it.
    Then I shut down the ACER utility, thinking Windows would keep things the way I had them. Wrong.
    Looks like the Control Panel settings take over when I shut down the ACER utility. Not pretty.
    Bottom line: Does anyone else have a similar story?
    Is there any way to tell Windows what I want it to do from the ACER utility, so it doesn't have to stay up in my taskbar?
    Thanks...
    Ron

  8. #7
    Bronze Lounger DrWho's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Central Florida
    Posts
    1,501
    Thanks
    30
    Thanked 205 Times in 163 Posts
    Sorry, DrRon, never seen such a thing.

    I too have a new Acer wide screen monitor and I have no such utility, if you mean one that came on CD.
    My new NVidea GeForce video card takes care of the monitor settings.
    It's just "Set it and forget it". Eh?

    Good Luck!
    The Doctor
    Experience is truly the best teacher.

    Backup! Backup! Backup! GHOST Rocks!

  9. #8
    3 Star Lounger Not Brightest Bulb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Central IL
    Posts
    376
    Thanks
    69
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    Well got the HP monitor and it was absolutely painless to hookup and it has real buttons not that touchy-touchy stuff, I hate that. Great pic and text.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •