Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Denver, Colorado, USA
    Posts
    126
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

    Adding iSATA branches to my MOBO connectors

    I'm running XP on a MCP6P M2+ MOBO system with 4 SATA connectors.

    I'm using one connector with an iSATA - eSATA bridge for my external HD cable
    The other 3 are taken by three internal HD's.

    I have a 4th internal HD running on my IDE connector.
    I'd love to convert it to SATA and just wondered if it is even possible to branch one of my SATA connectors into 2 cables.

    I think the answer is no and I just need to ditch the IDE HD but I thought I'd ask...

  2. #2
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Johnson City, Tennessee, USA
    Posts
    3,202
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 215 Times in 202 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by DrRon View Post
    I'm running XP on a MCP6P M2+ MOBO system with 4 SATA connectors.
    "Doc"
    Hello...There is another possibility...If you have an available PCI-E or PCI slot you could add a "SATA Controller Card" SATA Controllers I use a SYBA SD-SATA2-41R for my multi boot PC XP, Vista, "7" 32 and 64 bit, the card works and gives me 4 for more SATA ports...There are many choices these are just some ..Also i have tried a Vantec unit with mixed results ... do your homework before purchasing any.. read reviews and "Search" the web Regards Fred
    PlainFred

    None are so hopelessly enslaved as those who falsely believe they are free (J. W. Von Goethe)

  3. #3
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Denver, Colorado, USA
    Posts
    126
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    Why didn't I think of that?
    I'm looking at this guy for $20:
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...ab=true&Page=3
    Six ports, two external, jumper controlled for a max of 4 active, any configuration.
    I can replace my iSATA - eSATA bridge with this guy (PCI slot), activate 1 external and 3 internal ports and end up with 7 internal SATA ports.
    That's enough to convert my IDE HD to SATA, spend another $20 for a new SATA optical drive, get the last IDE ribbon out of my airstream and have 2 spare SATA ports when I'm done.
    Nice work, Fred. Thanks.

  4. #4
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Johnson City, Tennessee, USA
    Posts
    3,202
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 215 Times in 202 Posts
    "Doc",

    As i Said ....Make sure that you do your research before you "Pull the Trigger on a purchase" Read the reviews about the product, and web search the product for "Problems"...or you will end up with a drawer full of useless (cool looking ) things... Regards Fred

    PS: Also the "Speed" of the Card will be slower than plugging into your Motherboards SATA ports ...but not so much as to make it unworkable...
    Last edited by Just Plain Fred; 2012-05-14 at 19:15.
    PlainFred

    None are so hopelessly enslaved as those who falsely believe they are free (J. W. Von Goethe)

  5. #5
    Bronze Lounger DrWho's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Central Florida
    Posts
    1,501
    Thanks
    30
    Thanked 205 Times in 163 Posts
    Been there, done that. It works.

    But if you have a sizeable IDE drive that you don't want to give up on, but would like to use, but get better performance from,
    use an IDE to SATA adapter.


    I have several of these that I don't use often anymore, except when I need to slave a customer's IDE drive off of my main PC for troubleshooting purposes.

    When you connect an IDE 133 drive to a SATA port, using one of these little adapters, you can expect SATA I speed (data transfer rate) out of the IDE drive.
    It's mystical, magical and somewhat astounding. And I've been called every name in the book, for even suggesting it.
    But I've done it, timed it and it does work.

    Oh, and I've used those PCI, SATA driver cards, very effectively.
    I ran my first SATA I hard drive on an IDE only mobo for almost a year, with one of those PCI SATA controller cards, before I finally bought a SATA II mobo.
    Most of what can be done, I've already DONE. I've been at this stuff, for 30+ years. (professionally)

    Cheers Mates!
    The Doctor
    Experience is truly the best teacher.

    Backup! Backup! Backup! GHOST Rocks!

  6. #6
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Denver, Colorado, USA
    Posts
    126
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    Man, have I got a lot to learn...

    Ok Doctor, tell me what I'm seeing there.
    Is the IDE HD still being powered by the original cable and the magic adapter card being powered by the cable you would use on a SATA HD?

    Holy mystical adaptations - another Newegg search for me to see if they still sell them.

  7. #7
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Denver, Colorado, USA
    Posts
    126
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    Look what I found -
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...ab=true&Page=4
    It works both ways...
    Not fancy, a little wide but should fit, not really fast, but better than my IDE connection.
    So, looks like I need to do a little more homework on my PCI SATA driver card and make sure everything fits.
    Then I'm ready to boost my old Seagate 320G IDE HD to SATA 1 speed and wait for the SATA HD prices to come down.

  8. #8
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Denver, Colorado, USA
    Posts
    126
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Just Plain Fred View Post
    "Doc",

    As i Said ....Make sure that you do your research before you "Pull the Trigger on a purchase" Read the reviews about the product, and web search the product for "Problems"...or you will end up with a drawer full of useless (cool looking ) things... Regards Fred

    PS: Also the "Speed" of the Card will be slower than plugging into your Motherboards SATA ports ...but not so much as to make it unworkable...
    Got it. Looks like your SYBA gets good marks at about twice the price.
    But it would be worth it to have a reliable set of SATA ports added.
    The HD's will just be data storage devices being run in the middle of the night, mostly.
    The OS lives on a WD 120G bulletproof HD that might become an SSD later on. That one is on the MOBO SATA#1 port.
    My two WD Black 750G HD's do the lion's share of the data backup and archive work.
    The Seagate is my primary repository of all the User Data elements of Windows during working hours and needs a little speed boost.

  9. #9
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Johnson City, Tennessee, USA
    Posts
    3,202
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 215 Times in 202 Posts
    "Doc",
    One other thing ..you have to install some software to let your "OS" see the controller ..Can be a little tricky ..These things come with a disk to install, and most times you will update it (software) from their website ...Download > Save file> point Device manager to it. ( right click on the controller and select properties) Regards Fred
    PlainFred

    None are so hopelessly enslaved as those who falsely believe they are free (J. W. Von Goethe)

  10. #10
    Bronze Lounger DrWho's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Central Florida
    Posts
    1,501
    Thanks
    30
    Thanked 205 Times in 163 Posts
    The SATA expansion cards I've used, came with NO driver disk. The driver, if you want to call it that, is in ROM on the card.
    It takes over boot priority from the motherboard. It's more like a BIOS extension.

    Cheers!
    The Doctor
    Experience is truly the best teacher.

    Backup! Backup! Backup! GHOST Rocks!

  11. #11
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Denver, Colorado, USA
    Posts
    126
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by DrWho View Post
    The SATA expansion cards I've used, came with NO driver disk. The driver, if you want to call it that, is in ROM on the card.
    It takes over boot priority from the motherboard. It's more like a BIOS extension.

    Cheers!
    The Doctor

    Well then how do I point to a HD plugged into the MOBO SATA port to boot from its OS partition?
    Nothing's simple. is it?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •