New Lounger
    Thanks

Access 2003 - counting total number of records in a table

I am constructing a database in Access 2003 which lists contact information. So far so good, it looks like this:
    ID, First_Name, Last name, etc
    1, John, Doe
    2, Tim, Johnson

For the purpose of displaying these data through a merge with Word ("Good day [First_name] [Last_name], as one of our [Number_of_contacts] contacts ..."), I need to create an additional column in this table that shows how many records there are and this table. This total number of records should simply be repeated for each entry, which should look like this:

ID, First_Name, Last_name, Number_of_contacts
    1, John, Doe, 2
    2, Tim, Johnson, 2

I am not a database professional, nor do I have time to become one, and while I got the database running as intended I am at a loss as to how to get this one little number in my table (I found a lot about the 'count' function in queries, but this doesn't seem to help me much) so any suggestions would be appreciated!

Ron

Administrator
    Thanks
    Thanked 1,398 Times in 1,221 Posts
    You can't do that in a table and it doesn't make sense to do it, technically. I suggest you create a query based on that table and then add a column in that table with some SQL that will get you the number you need. If you tell me the column names and the table name, I can write the SQL here and you can create a new query by pasting the code posted here.

Thanks
    Thanked 1,457 Times in 1,326 Posts
    Rui,

I was playing around with storing the count of records in an environment variable and then setting a Word Document Variable that could be retrieved in a Field Code. However, this is a problem since the Environment Variables available only update when the system is rebooted! Maybe you could write the SQL code to run from Word and then set the Document variable that way it wouldn't have to be stored in the table?

Here's the code I was playing with.
    Code: