Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,371
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts

    The right cable for the right job

    I'm thinking of buying the HP - 17.3" Pavilion Laptop - 8GB Memory - 750GB Hard Drive - Dark Umber laptop
    [ http://www.bestbuy.com/site/HP+-+17....ustomerreviews ]

    but I want to be able to hook it into my [Cox] cable -- like my desktop which is "hardwired" into the network. DB's tell me all I need is a Cat-5 or Cat-6 network cable.

    How does that translate to connections? USB, ehternet, ...?? 'Cause I need to know what type of connection the laptop would need.

    Regards,
    Chuck Billow
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

  2. #2
    WS Lounge VIP Browni's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Rochdale, UK
    Posts
    1,652
    Thanks
    38
    Thanked 161 Times in 139 Posts
    I'm not sure what you mean by "DB" although if they say all you need is a Cat-5 or -6 network cable that would be ethernet which the laptop you mentioned comes with.

  3. #3
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,371
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Browni View Post
    I'm not sure what you mean by "DB" although if they say all you need is a Cat-5 or -6 network cable that would be ethernet which the laptop you mentioned comes with.
    Now if it comes with DV (not VGA) input for my monitor, I'm ready to go!

    Thanks,
    Chuck
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

  4. #4
    WS Lounge VIP Browni's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Rochdale, UK
    Posts
    1,652
    Thanks
    38
    Thanked 161 Times in 139 Posts
    Don't look like it.

    From the screenshots on Bestbuy it has a VGA output & an HDMI output.

  5. #5
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,371
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts
    Well, two things: it IS a DV output connection I need, isn't it? My monitor isn't VGA... Secondly, how does one get around it if it [the laptop] doesn't have it? Is it the docking station that has the DV connection?

    Chuck
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

  6. #6
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,435
    Thanks
    372
    Thanked 1,457 Times in 1,326 Posts
    Chuck,

    Just to make it easier here's a connector reverence.
    DVI
    HDMI
    VGA
    DV-1394-FireWire

  7. #7
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,371
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts
    Thanks RG!

    Chuck
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

  8. #8
    Super Moderator BATcher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    A cultural area in SW England
    Posts
    3,417
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 195 Times in 175 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by RetiredGeek View Post
    Just to make it easier here's a connector reverence.
    DVI
    HDMI
    VGA
    DV-1394-FireWire
    I'm certainly quite in awe of these!
    BATcher

    Time prevents everything happening all at once...

  9. #9
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,794
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 799 Times in 720 Posts
    Chuck, If you have a Wireless Router, you won't need an Ethernet cable, assuming its already set up for wireless.

    Jerry

  10. #10
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,371
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts
    Jerry, theoretically that's true. But I have had less than stellar experiences with wireless, and would just as soon, for my "everyday", rely on a direct cable attached. Then if I need the wireless, it'll be there. The connection is Ethernet, so I'm good.

    Chuck
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

  11. #11
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    16
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Hdmi/dvi

    HDMI & DVI are pin compatible. You shd be able to just buy the right adapter.

    BTW, wasn't there a song out about you? "Chuck Key's in Love," or something like that? Some singer named Tricky Knee Bones, I believe.

  12. #12
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,371
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts
    Oh lord, where's my bucket!??
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

  13. #13
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    16
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Bucket

    Marvelous! Your reply was everything I could have hoped for. GLAFF (Guffawed like a friggin' fool). Ahem, sorry.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •