Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 16
  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Birkirkara, Malta
    Posts
    1,166
    Thanks
    186
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

    Strange Problem With IE 9

    I have had no problem connecting to the internet until today.

    When I clicked the taskbar shortcut for IE the program did not respond.Also,various programs that normally connect to the internet without any problem now do not connect. (FileHippo Update Checker for example). Other programs do connect.If I click IE 64 bit on the start screen then IE opens in a flash at my home page, so I tried unpinning the IE shortcut from the taskbar and pinning it to the taskbar from the start screen instead,but that didn't work.

    If anyone can tell me how to resolve this problem I would be very grateful.

    Thanks and regards,Roy
    Last edited by royw; 2012-06-13 at 02:13. Reason: Clarification
    OS Dual Boot Win 7 Pro 64 Bit-SP1 & IE11 & Win 8.1 Pro 64 Bit & IE11-Intel Core i7 2600K Processor LGA1155-Asus P867 Pro Motherboard-GTX550 Ti DirectCU Graphics Card-Memory 8GB

    Roy Whitethread

  2. Subscribe to our Windows Secrets Newsletter - It's Free!

    Get our unique weekly Newsletter with tips and techniques, how to's and critical updates on Windows 7, Windows 8, Windows XP, Firefox, Internet Explorer, Google, etc. Join our 480,000 subscribers!

    Excel 2013: The Missing Manual

    + Get this BONUS — free!

    Get the most of Excel! Learn about new features, basics of creating a new spreadsheet and using the infamous Ribbon in the first chapter of Excel 2013: The Missing Manual - Subscribe and download Chapter 1 for free!

  3. #2
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,426
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 212 Times in 180 Posts
    Hi Roy,
    I pin my browser to the Start Menu + a desktop shortcut only. I also use Filehippo Update Checker and couldn't get it to work on my Win7 H Prem, so I started using the Portable version. I run it manually but it can be run by programing it with Task Scheduler.
    George's PC Specs. / Laptop. Desktop.

  4. #3
    Super Moderator CLiNT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    California & Arizona
    Posts
    5,402
    Thanks
    127
    Thanked 488 Times in 449 Posts
    First off, do you have a working internet connection?
    Will your AV/AM update?
    Will WU connect and show updates?

  5. #4
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Birkirkara, Malta
    Posts
    1,166
    Thanks
    186
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
    Hi Roderunner and CLiNT,thanks for your replies.I solved the problem by clearing the DNS cache, thanks to the reply from Ted Myers to the thread started by The Duchess. (IE9 acting up again).

    Best regards,Roy
    OS Dual Boot Win 7 Pro 64 Bit-SP1 & IE11 & Win 8.1 Pro 64 Bit & IE11-Intel Core i7 2600K Processor LGA1155-Asus P867 Pro Motherboard-GTX550 Ti DirectCU Graphics Card-Memory 8GB

    Roy Whitethread

  6. #5
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    I had this problem this morning( ie9 not working), after i installed the latest windows 7 updates. Then i uninstalled the update of ie9 and problem was solved...

  7. The Following User Says Thank You to xxxxxy For This Useful Post:

    royw (2012-06-13)

  8. #6
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,625
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 929 Times in 851 Posts
    Glad I could help by proxy Roy. It sounds like you are using IE (32 Bit version) by default, and when you started IE from the Start Menu you chose the 64 Bit version. I have deleted the 32 Bit icon from my taskbar and pinned the 64 Bit version instead. Now I am using the 64 Bit version all the time. Most add ons have been updated to work with the 64 Bit version.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  9. #7
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Birkirkara, Malta
    Posts
    1,166
    Thanks
    186
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
    Hi Ted, I spoke too soon.I cleared the DNS cache for the second time and then pinned the 64 bit version of IE 9 to the taskbar, instead of the 32 bit version.What happens now is that if I open IE from the taskbar it works fine. However,if I try to connect to websites from program shortcuts or from desktop shortcuts I have used for some time past without problems (a shortcut to Windows Secrets, for example) IE does not respond.The other strange thing is that after a website doesn't respond if I open IE from the taskbar and click "restore session" the previously non-responding window opens. (The only way I could get to Windows Secrets Forums was to open IE from the taskbar and then open it from my Favourites list)

    I would greatly appreciate further help.

    Thanks and regards,Roy
    OS Dual Boot Win 7 Pro 64 Bit-SP1 & IE11 & Win 8.1 Pro 64 Bit & IE11-Intel Core i7 2600K Processor LGA1155-Asus P867 Pro Motherboard-GTX550 Ti DirectCU Graphics Card-Memory 8GB

    Roy Whitethread

  10. #8
    Super Moderator CLiNT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    California & Arizona
    Posts
    5,402
    Thanks
    127
    Thanked 488 Times in 449 Posts
    Delete and replace the desktop shortcuts with one from your favorites or favorites bar.

  11. #9
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,625
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 929 Times in 851 Posts
    Yes, the 64 Bit IE 9 is not default. When you click a shortcut, Windows will automatically choose the 32 Bit version. Since you had a problem, I suspect your preexisting desktop icons were corrupt. At some point in time I suspect MS will allow us to set the 64 Bit IE 9 to be the default browser, but not yet.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  12. #10
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Birkirkara, Malta
    Posts
    1,166
    Thanks
    186
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
    Hi CLiNT and Ted,

    Once again,I could only reach this site by launching IE9 from the 64 bit taskbar shortcut.

    Clint,how do I place a shortcut from my favourites to the desktop? Also, that will not work anyway in the case of File Hippo's Update Checker desktop program shortcut.Until now,when I clicked that shortcut File Hippo would open a web page displaying download links to relevant updates for a number of my installed programs. Now it's one of several shortcuts that lead to a non responding web page.

    I tried uninstalling the latest update to IE 9, but that hasn't made any difference.

    Please advise further.

    Thanks and regards,
    Roy
    OS Dual Boot Win 7 Pro 64 Bit-SP1 & IE11 & Win 8.1 Pro 64 Bit & IE11-Intel Core i7 2600K Processor LGA1155-Asus P867 Pro Motherboard-GTX550 Ti DirectCU Graphics Card-Memory 8GB

    Roy Whitethread

  13. #11
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Birkirkara, Malta
    Posts
    1,166
    Thanks
    186
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
    Hi again,

    All the desktop and program shortcuts to webpages are now working again,and at blazing speed,much faster than before the problem started.

    The only thing I can think of that solved the problem is that I uninstalled the latest IE 9 update, as mentioned in post #5,even though that did not work originally.

    CLiNT, I would still like to know how do I place a shortcut from my favourites to the desktop?

    Thanks and regards, Roy
    OS Dual Boot Win 7 Pro 64 Bit-SP1 & IE11 & Win 8.1 Pro 64 Bit & IE11-Intel Core i7 2600K Processor LGA1155-Asus P867 Pro Motherboard-GTX550 Ti DirectCU Graphics Card-Memory 8GB

    Roy Whitethread

  14. #12
    Super Moderator CLiNT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    California & Arizona
    Posts
    5,402
    Thanks
    127
    Thanked 488 Times in 449 Posts
    Right click, send to Desktop.

    or

    From Favorites Bar, drag to desktop/ or copy paste to desktop.

    Simple.

  15. #13
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Birkirkara, Malta
    Posts
    1,166
    Thanks
    186
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
    Today I found that the IE 9 problem had arisen again.I checked through the list of installed updates and found that KB2699988 had been installed again.I believe this happened because I used the ERUNT program to restore the registry from a few days ago to solve a different problem.I uninstalled the update and IE9 now works again.

    The update was reoffered but I have hidden it. I am worried about this because the update was shown as critical,but if I install it IE9 will stop working again,unless I open the 64 bit version from the Start screen.What can I do about this?
    OS Dual Boot Win 7 Pro 64 Bit-SP1 & IE11 & Win 8.1 Pro 64 Bit & IE11-Intel Core i7 2600K Processor LGA1155-Asus P867 Pro Motherboard-GTX550 Ti DirectCU Graphics Card-Memory 8GB

    Roy Whitethread

  16. #14
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    2,726
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 336 Times in 304 Posts
    It could be a conflict with a particular add-on you have installed in IE9: After installing KB2699988, Internet Explorer 9 is no longer responding

    Perhaps you should install the update and try running IE9 without add-ons to check whether that makes a difference?

    Bruce

  17. #15
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Birkirkara, Malta
    Posts
    1,166
    Thanks
    186
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
    Bruce, thanks .I will try that tomorrow (it's 1 a.m. here in Malta) and post back.

    Regards, Roy
    OS Dual Boot Win 7 Pro 64 Bit-SP1 & IE11 & Win 8.1 Pro 64 Bit & IE11-Intel Core i7 2600K Processor LGA1155-Asus P867 Pro Motherboard-GTX550 Ti DirectCU Graphics Card-Memory 8GB

    Roy Whitethread

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •