New Lounger
    Thanks

Firefox 12, 100% cpu usage in XP SP3, updated

Hi all

I see Firefox using up 100% CPU in spikes (when opening the app / opening a new tab) but also, and increasingly, for quite a long time.

I have tried in Firefox safe mode (same), rootkits, virus, antimalware, on line virus scans (both in normal and in safe mode) and the results are: 0 intruders... and 100% CPU.

How can I solve this?

4 Star Lounger
    Thanks
    Try resetting Firefox to default values. See this article: Restore Firefox defaults

Thanks
    Problems cannot be solved by the same level of thinking that created them. -Albert Einsten

3 Star Lounger Not Brightest Bulb's Avatar
    Thanks
    Anybody with W-7 tried the Firefox restore program.

New Lounger
    Thanks
    Quote Originally Posted by Not Brightest Bulb View Post
    Anybody with W-7 tried the Firefox restore program.
    Yes I have only a day ago. I'm new to Firefox and went bananas with the add-ons and plugins and got totally lost (not being a fundi) In order to get out of my shmozzle, I used the restore function and was rewarded with a slimmed down Firefox that works well and a plank,like me can use.(I still prefer IE but I must move with the times)

Thanks
    I am old FF user and I can't imagine what all is in the FF-Folder. Thank you for quick reply.

Edit:
    Ok I did the FF restore this morning and too soon to say much except it appears to have worked, time will tell all. At least 1st step is done. One problem is that now my RoboForm toolbar is not showing up.
    Last edited by Not Brightest Bulb; 2012-06-07 at 12:11.

Thanks