2 Star Lounger
    Thanks

XP sp3 Thinks all drives are full

I've got something like 750 GB in two drives.
    I've partitioned them to about 50 Gb drives (avg.)
    I've been running this system for several years, and
    have over 300 programs installed, but now all of a
    sudden XP seams to think they are all full. (Most are
    80 to 90% free.)

How do I fix this?

4 Star Lounger
    Thanks
    Check to see if it's caused by an excessive amount of temp files first of all. Here are instructions.

1. Hit Windows logo key + R to launch the Run command.
    2. Type: cleanmgr and click OK.
    3. In the next menu which appears it will default to C: so just click OK again.
    4. In the following menu, checkmark all the boxes except the option to compress all files.
    5. Click OK and then repeat for your other drives by changing C: to your other drive letters.

System Restore by default claims 12% of a drive or partition. To reduce it hit Windows logo key + Pause/Break to take you to System Properties and then click the System Restore tab. Drag the slider backwards to reduce the amount of disk space to it to about 2000MB which is enough for about four System Restore points.

You can delete all but the last Restore Point in the same menu by clicking the "More Options" tab and then in the menu at the bottom, click the "Cleanup" button.

You can download this free utility which shows where the space has all gone: http://www.disktective.com/

This Microsoft document might also be helpful: http://support.microsoft.com/kb/315688

2 Star Lounger
    Thanks
    The clean manager comes up for EVERY drive when it says the drive is full.
    I've got drives: C: to R: with Q: as my removable drive, then O/X/Y are my
    network drives and they don't give me that "Drive Full" error/alert.
    I can go into Admin-tools and see the free space on every drive.
    I can open PerfectDisk defragging program and see the same free space.