New Lounger
    Thanks

Access 2010 email report pages to separate people

Greetings. Like the fine folks in these two threads:
    http://windowssecrets.com/forums/sho...eparate-people
    http://windowssecrets.com/forums/sho...eparate-people!

I have a report that is 512 pages or so. The unique field name on each page is STORE. I have a hierarchy in another table that has each store number and an email address. Based on what I see above I can loop through each record/page, create a one page PDF and send that page to each store email address. Next though I have to 'roll up' the pages based on the higher levels. so 20 stores belong to 00001, then all the stores in 00001, 00002, 00003 are part of 00010, etc.

Assuming that where the code is doing a vlookup kind of action (I'm an excel guy by trade) with the store number to the email, we should be able to do the same thing right? to say that if a store is part of 000001, then group all those pages together, create the pdf file and email to the corresponding address.

Thanks in advance-
    Spharticus

Administrator
    Thanks
    Thanked 1,398 Times in 1,221 Posts
    Hi,

Welcome to the Lounge.

If your database has data on the relationships between stores, I don't see why not. I guess you would need to base the report on a query that could retrieve the different stores for each higher level...

Super Moderator
    Thanks
    As Rui suggests, if you include your hiearchy table in the data source for the report, and then use the Filter property of the report to create the various groupings based on the specific level chosen, you should be able to accomplish what you need. In fact, you should be able to automate the whole thing if you are using Outlook or another eMail client that exposes it's object model to automation.
    Wendell

Thanks
    Thanked 1,457 Times in 1,326 Posts
    Spharticus,

See this post for some code you might be able to adapt.
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

RG