Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 23
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    windows 7 wont boot

    My 9 year son got on to my pc and did something, now windows 7 wont start.
    Tried going to safe mode, no luck.

    Created the ntbtlog.txt and the last driver loaded was PNP.., something
    (doing this from memory after working on it at 5AM for a
    couple of hours) then no other drivers load.

    I get a blue screen of death when using the utility (pushed F8) that keeps windows from re-booting after a fail.
    It tells me window stopped booting to prevent damage to the system and gives some cryptic numbers.

    Tried restoring a restore point.
    There was one dated yesterday 5/28, but I did not create or do any update yesterday, I think is what my son accomplished,
    so I restored to the previous point about 10days ago which was the last time I updated windows, still cant boot.

    Tried booting to last known good configuration, no luck

    Ran the memory checker it was clean, but something has changed my bios, back to what looks like default.
    I had been over clocking, but now its default frequency, another mystery to solve.


    Ran the repair disk which informs me it cant repair the system
    Tells me:
    Unspecified changes to system configuration might have caused the problem.” duhhhhhhhhhhh

    Last thing is I can access all drives when I use repair to bring up a cmd window.
    Odd thing is windows directory is on F: not C: where it has been for 3 years.

    So any ideas from anyone?


    I was going to pay MS the $99 for premium support, is that worth it?
    Are they just going to tell me to re-install windows 7

    I have several images I could go back to but they are old and I will loose all my application updates, so I want to avoid this.
    Last edited by 1amdadmt; 2012-05-29 at 16:38.

  2. #2
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,462
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 216 Times in 183 Posts
    O wad some Power the giftie gie us, to see oursels as ithers see us!

  3. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Roderunner,
    Thanks. I think I do have Sp1 installed, last update I did, is there a way to verify this for sure?
    Also, since machine wont boot, is there a way to remove SP1?

    I really want to use my original disk if possible.


    Also, I tried to find the right iso to download (in case no way to do the above), can you point me to the correct link.
    I have windows 7 premuim home edition, 64bit.

  4. #4
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,462
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 216 Times in 183 Posts
    This is the link your looking for. http://msft-dnl.digitalrivercontent..../X15-65733.iso file size 3.0GB

    RR.png

    Don't try uninstalling SP1 it can cause too much trouble.
    Last edited by Roderunner; 2012-05-29 at 17:38. Reason: added file size.
    O wad some Power the giftie gie us, to see oursels as ithers see us!

  5. #5
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    Since your PC will not boot, there is really no way to check on Sp1.

    You could download the Win 7 iso file with SP1 included from Digital River. Burn the iso file to DVD and use that for the repair.

    Have you checked through your Bios to see if you recognize if anything is wrong? Does the PC start to boot or just does nothing? Could he have gotten into the case some how?

    If he somehow got into the registry, he could have created havoc, but that is a pretty specific method. I suppose he could have deleted some system files, but Windows is usually pretty specific on what a user can and cannot easily do.

    Very perplexing!
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  6. #6
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Ted:
    Bios has some changes, looks like its back to default, but windows does start to boot, memory checker shows no problems.

    The little guy could not have gotten into the case.

    I could see how he started pushing buttons and deleted some files, he was logged in as me, the admin.

    I think I will burn the iso to a disk and try that.

    Any thoughts on paying MS the $99 for premium support?

  7. #7
    Super Moderator satrow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Cardiff, UK
    Posts
    4,486
    Thanks
    283
    Thanked 574 Times in 478 Posts
    What was the BSOD 0x* error?

  8. #8
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Johnson City, Tennessee, USA
    Posts
    3,202
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 215 Times in 202 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by 1amdadmt View Post
    My 9 year son got on to my pc and did something, now windows 7 wont start.
    Tried going to safe mode, no luck.
    "1",
    Hello... When your booting get into < Boot Menu> Could be "Esc" or "F-10". Find your Hd with your OS on it ..Click on it and Hit "Enter"... Could be your "MBR" is corrupted ... this would (if it works) get you back up ... Done this a few times when i "messed up"...worth a shot.. Regards Fred

    PS: Have a look seehere
    Last edited by Just Plain Fred; 2012-05-29 at 19:10.
    PlainFred

    None are so hopelessly enslaved as those who falsely believe they are free (J. W. Von Goethe)

  9. #9
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I will have to get the BOSD 0X numbers, not in front of machine.


    For Freds suggestion:
    Start the boot, hit F10 or esc like I would hit F8, right?
    Click on drive and enter, what does this do re-build the MBR?

  10. #10
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Johnson City, Tennessee, USA
    Posts
    3,202
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 215 Times in 202 Posts
    "1"
    Hello.. Right except you would be entering "Boot Menu" if it works at least you will have your OS back up ...you then can make a repair disk or see this and my other link Fix MBR
    PlainFred

    None are so hopelessly enslaved as those who falsely believe they are free (J. W. Von Goethe)

  11. #11
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    I would hold off on the $99 except as a last resort. You could also try the Repair Install of Win 7 using the iso burned to DVD.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  12. #12
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Walsall
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    OK, yes Microsoft are most likely to tell you to re install Windows. This is because the attempts you have made to repair have been thorough but have failed, leaving re installation your best option now. I would not recommend paying for them to tell you this as it is most likely what they will do. If you do not want to re install due to data you have, you could remove the hard disk and use it as a secondary via transfer cable to a laptop. If you do not have the equipment for this there are pc repair companies who will send people to your home with the equipment needed. They will not leave until everything is right and will cost less than Microsofts phone advice. Attempting to fix this will take many wasted hours and will not work as quick as a re fresh even if you do not find other annoying problems this has caused.
    Last edited by ruirib; 2012-05-30 at 02:54. Reason: advertising removed

  13. #13
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Not having much luck with fixing MBR.
    F10 didnt show the disks, output looked incomplete.
    Tried the fix MBR, still didnt boot.

    BSOD numbers are


    ***STOP 0x0000007B (0xFFFFF880009A9928,0XFFFFFFFFC0000034,0X000000000 0000000,0X0000000000000000)

    Burned this iso image will try non destructive install.

  14. #14
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Dont seem to be able to use non destructive install, windows says the computer started from the intall disk, remove the install disk and restart the computer so that windows starts normally. Then insert the install disk and restart the upgrade.

    Since I cant boot I cant do this, any way around it?

  15. #15
    Super Moderator satrow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Cardiff, UK
    Posts
    4,486
    Thanks
    283
    Thanked 574 Times in 478 Posts
    0x7B = inaccessible boot device iirc, and my guess is your partitions have been messed with by either a 'repair' or malware - either way, your best bet is to use a specialist malware forum, they'll be familiar with the tools needed to access the drive from a bootable CD with FRST on a USB stick so they can work out how the layout should be and get it up and running again.

    I'd use Majorgeeks, thinksupportforum or bleepingcompter, I'm pretty sure the guys and gals in their malware sections will be able to get it analyzed and fixed up.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •