Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    3 Star Lounger
    Thanks

Pinning folders and files to the Start menu

I'm trying to pin another folder to my start menu. I've done this before and it worked fine. The instructions from a "Windows Secrets" article makes it appear simple: "To pin a folder or file — or just about anything else — to the Start Menu, navigate to the folder or file and left-click it. Now drag it down to the Start orb. Hover for a moment or two, and the Start menu opens. Keep dragging the file or folder up to the pinned list. Settle on the location you’d like, and drop the file or folder."

This isn't working anymore. Windows wants to "open" the folder with one of the program icons pinned to the start menu, but it never allows me to drop the folder there. I figure that I've changed some setting for the Start Menu that's getting in my way, but I don't know which one. I'm not a newbie, but this is driving me nuts.

Thanks.

WSC

W7 Ultimate

Thanks
    In order to do so you will likely have to allow items to be placed in the start menu by...
    Untitled.jpg

Works for me without any problems, I can place folders or individual files in the start menu area.

3 Star Lounger
    Thanks
    Great idea, but it didn't help. I had the "Number of recent programs" set at 12 & I even increased it to 16. I didn't have the top box checked, but I checked it and I still can't drop any more folders there. Interestingly I can easily drop a file here. The "Pin to Start Menu" option appears all up the menu when the object I'm dragging is a file. With a folder, that "Pin" message appears when I hover over the start orb and only briefly when the menu appears. It does not appear again. Other ideas?

Super Moderator
    Thanks
    You do have to drop between items on the pinned or recent sections, not on top of an item while the balloon option says "+ Open with ...".

Bruce

Thanks
    Have a look at this article from the "How-to Geek".

AND