Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Kingscliff
    Posts
    82
    Thanks
    73
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Unauthorised access to my computer

    I am getting very suspicious that someone, or people is trying to access my computer online, during the night.

    I am not operating my computer during nights and all I do before stopping what I am doing; I put the computer to sleep.

    My question is: Is the ''sleep status'' function enough to stop anyone to access my computer, or should I shut it down, or maybe switch the modem off?

    Thanks to anyone who could suggest a course of action.

  2. #2
    5 Star Lounger RussB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Grand Rapids, Michigan
    Posts
    674
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 38 Times in 37 Posts
    Putting it to "Sleep" is adequate if you do NOT have "wake on LAN" turned on in the BIOS, if it is on turn it off.
    Do you "Believe"? Do you vote? Please Read:
    LEARN something today so you can TEACH something tomorrow.
    DETAIL in your question promotes DETAIL in my answer.
    Dominus Vobiscum <))>(

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to RussB For This Useful Post:

    jeanpierre (2012-07-03)

  4. #3
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Kingscliff
    Posts
    82
    Thanks
    73
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Hi Russ,
    Thank you for your help; I am sorry, I have only started working with this computer and I am a retired pensioner. Serioulsly, all this to tell you that I haven't the faintest idea where to go in my computer to turn the Bios on or off.

    May I ask you for further assistance? I may have a vague idea what they are, but where can I find them to turn them on or off?
    Thank you.

  5. #4
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,625
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 932 Times in 853 Posts
    When you first boot, before you get to the Windows loading screen (usually it's when the PC manufacturer's screen is displayed) press either F2 or F12 for many different PC's. There should be displayed the proper key to press during the boot time. Be advised it does not last long so you might very much miss it the first time.

    Once you get into the Bios, search through the various screen to check on this setting.

    Or you could simply turn the PC off at night.

    I would also suggest a complete Virus Scan with you AV app of choice and a complete scan with Malwarebytes Antimalware. The free version works quite well for manual scanning.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  6. The Following User Says Thank You to Medico For This Useful Post:

    jeanpierre (2012-07-03)

  7. #5
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    20,613
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 624 Times in 558 Posts
    What makes you think someone is attempting to acces the PC while you are sleeping?

    Joe

  8. The Following User Says Thank You to JoeP517 For This Useful Post:

    jeanpierre (2012-07-03)

  9. #6
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Kingscliff
    Posts
    82
    Thanks
    73
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    I may have some unauthorized withdrauwal of funds from one bank. I only have serious doubts about it; I came to the conclusion that one may never be too careful. Thanks for asking.

  10. #7
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    20,613
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 624 Times in 558 Posts
    Have you contacted the bank to see if they can identify the source of the withdrawals?
    Have you changed the password on your account?
    If you use an ATM have you changed your PIN?
    Have you checked with the bank about changing the account number?

    You can have a password to access the PC on waking from sleep. If you already have one change it. It you decide to use one be sure it is a strong password.

    Joe

  11. The Following User Says Thank You to JoeP517 For This Useful Post:

    jeanpierre (2012-07-03)

  12. #8
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Kingscliff
    Posts
    82
    Thanks
    73
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Thank you. It is the first thing I did... I cancelled my account and asked to issue me with a new account as well as a new card.
    I will now change the password used to access my PC. Thanks again, your help is greatly appreciated.

  13. #9
    Super Moderator CLiNT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    California & Arizona
    Posts
    5,481
    Thanks
    130
    Thanked 499 Times in 459 Posts
    If your of the "old school" be carefull where you post your passwords. I know some people like to write them on a sticky note
    and put it in a drawer somewhere near the computer, always a big mistake.

    Get a program that stores or generates passwords that only you have access to.

  14. The Following User Says Thank You to CLiNT For This Useful Post:

    jeanpierre (2012-07-03)

  15. #10
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,625
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 932 Times in 853 Posts
    Just to add to the last statement, I use Last Pass for my password management. I also stick all my paid apps keys in the Form Fill, Notes area. This way if I loose the printed material that came with the various apps, the keys are in Last Pass. For example I just installed Malwarebytes Pro and stuck the key in for posterity.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  16. The Following User Says Thank You to Medico For This Useful Post:

    jeanpierre (2012-07-03)

  17. #11
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Kingscliff
    Posts
    82
    Thanks
    73
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    I use Roboform to keep my passwords. But how good would that be if I lose my user's access password, I won't have access to Roboform, will I?
    However, I have taken good note on how not to leave the password written anywhere for anyone to see.

    Thank you all for all your help. It is great to have access to experts in the WS Lounge.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •