Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Silver Lounger Duchess843's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Sicklerville, NJ
    Posts
    2,488
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    IE9 Acting Up Again

    I'm having problems with my homepage not loading. The homepage I've used for a long time is: http://abcnews.go.com. I can use any other site as the homepage.

    What I've done so far to try and fix it: I went to another webpage and to Internet Options > General tab and choose Use Currant. The page loaded so I typed into the Address bar my former homepage, abcnews flashed across the screen and then disappeared. I have made Google Chrome my default browser, but I still use IE to do other things

    It seems I have a couple of choices: Revert to IE8 or select another site as the homepage.

    What I'd like to do is fix IE9 and the current issue. This is very strange, I've never heard of this happening to anyone else, although I'm sure it has. Does anyone have any idea about what else to try?

    Gloria
    <img src=/S/coffeetime.gif border=0 alt=coffeetime width=32 height=48>

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    Have you tried to empty your TIF, Cookies and DNS cache?

    You could also try to run IE without any add ons to see if it works.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  3. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Medico For This Useful Post:

    Duchess843 (2012-06-08),royw (2012-06-13)

  4. #3
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,798
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 799 Times in 720 Posts
    have you tried reading the page in compatibility mode? Click on the torn page icon at the far right of the address bar. Also, make sure your Java and Flash are up to date.

    Jerry

  5. #4
    Silver Lounger Duchess843's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Sicklerville, NJ
    Posts
    2,488
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by jwitalka View Post
    have you tried reading the page in compatibility mode? Click on the torn page icon at the far right of the address bar. Also, make sure your Java and Flash are up to date.

    Jerry
    It would be impossible to use compatibility view if the page won't appear so that I could try it. I will check Java & Flash and make sure I have the latest. Thanks for the suggestion.
    <img src=/S/coffeetime.gif border=0 alt=coffeetime width=32 height=48>

  6. #5
    Silver Lounger Duchess843's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Sicklerville, NJ
    Posts
    2,488
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Ted Myers View Post
    Have you tried to empty your TIF, Cookies and DNS cache?

    You could also try to run IE without any add ons to see if it works.
    Please explain how to empty the DNS Cache, I've never done it or heard it mentioned?
    <img src=/S/coffeetime.gif border=0 alt=coffeetime width=32 height=48>

  7. #6
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    4,756
    Thanks
    171
    Thanked 653 Times in 576 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Duchess843 View Post
    Please explain how to empty the DNS Cache, I've never done it or heard it mentioned?
    DNS cache was a link to instructions.

    Bruce

  8. The Following User Says Thank You to BruceR For This Useful Post:

    Duchess843 (2012-06-08)

  9. #7
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,798
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 799 Times in 720 Posts
    You just need to have the url in the address bar to enable compatibility view. Clicking on the torn page icon will reload the page in compatibility mode.

    Jerry

  10. #8
    Silver Lounger Duchess843's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Sicklerville, NJ
    Posts
    2,488
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by BruceR View Post
    DNS cache was a link to instructions.

    Bruce
    My apologies to Ted, I neglected to detect that the post had a link. Now I know I'm getting old.
    I visited Addictive tips and printed both articles, found it so informative that I subscribed. I am indebted to Ted for the links he supplied and to you for making me aware of them.

    I will try the things found in the articles and see if that corrects the issue.

    Gloria
    <img src=/S/coffeetime.gif border=0 alt=coffeetime width=32 height=48>

  11. #9
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    You are welcome. I hope one of the hints works to solve your problem.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •