New Lounger
    Thanks

Adding to the Access 2007 Ribbon: First Effort

I'm a veteran Access/VBA/Sql Server programmer taking my first crack at adding to the ribbon in Access 2007, or creating a new one (preferred). I've been following the standard reference documentation from Microsoft and from a couple of books, but they are only getting me to third base. Can anyone help me get to home?

I'm using the .LoadCustomUI method with VBA code. I'm able to successfully load my ribbon name into the RibbonName drop-down in Access Options; I able to do the same with forms. But in no case am I able to see any changes! Here is the XML code I am using for my test:

<customUI xmlns="http://schemas.microsoft.com/office/2006/01/customui">
    <ribbon startFromScratch="true">
    <tabs>
    <tab id="DalesTab" label="DALES TAB" visible="true">
    <group id="TestTabs" label="TEST TABS">
    <button id="Test1Button" label="TEST BUTTON 1" onAction="subHandleOnAction" tag="Test1"/>
    </group>
    </tab>
    </tabs>
    </ribbon>
    </customUI>

I have this code generated by a variable xml, so I invoke the method with

Application.LoadCustomUI "DalesTab", xml

Is there a problem in the code? Of course I am doing the obvious things like loading the code, selecting the ribbon name, exiting, then rerunning. What else?

Dale Napier
    Last edited by LasVegan; 2012-06-07 at 14:42.

New Lounger
    Thanks
    Did you see this post? http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/libr...lopers_Runtime

Another way is to use the USysRibbons table and added you xml as a record. Then you can use this code Me.RibbonName = "RibbonName"
    Jack

New Lounger
    Thanks
    In the end I determined my problems were in imperfect XML. The question is, is there an easier way to debug the XML rather than just looking at it over and over again? I miss my VBA debugger.

New Lounger
    Thanks
    Jack, where would that code go and what does the Me. object refer to in this context?

New Lounger
    Thanks