Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 20
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Sacramento, CA
    Posts
    20
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Internet Issue and WIndows

    I have a HP G60, running Windows 7 HP, 43 GB of RAM. Whenever I go to the internet using any browser (chrome, safaria or IE) there is a significant pause when going there and when you change sites and then click you get a non responding message. I have run Super AntiSpyware, Spybot, Microsoft Security Essentials and MalwareBytes. Any Suggestions? It is driving me crazy

    Thanks

    Chris

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    12,519
    Thanks
    152
    Thanked 1,398 Times in 1,221 Posts
    Is MSE the only realtime protection?

  3. #3
    Super Moderator CLiNT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    California & Arizona
    Posts
    6,121
    Thanks
    160
    Thanked 609 Times in 557 Posts
    How are you connected to the internet?

  4. #4
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Sacramento, CA
    Posts
    20
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    MSE is the only one -- I pulled McCafee's off to see if it was the problem.

    The computer is having the same issues when connected via wireless or direct connect.

    Chris

  5. #5
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    12,519
    Thanks
    152
    Thanked 1,398 Times in 1,221 Posts
    Any common settings to the different browsers? Toolbars, maybe?
    What DNS servers do you use?

  6. #6
    Super Moderator CLiNT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    California & Arizona
    Posts
    6,121
    Thanks
    160
    Thanked 609 Times in 557 Posts
    Remove all unnecessary browser extensions and addons.
    Uninstall/Reinstall Flash and Java, if any.
    Ensure that you have updated LAN and wireless drivers.
    Use TCPView v3.05 to see what your network is doing and possibly troubleshoot.


    Does the slowness start immediately upon using the browser(s) from a fresh bootup, or do they gradually become slower over time?

  7. #7
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Sacramento, CA
    Posts
    20
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Use the ATT DNS -- No toolbars except for WIndows live and I removed that one

  8. #8
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Sacramento, CA
    Posts
    20
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Starts immediately on using the browser - I hav reinstalled Flash -- The drivers are up to date and will do Java as soon as Kaspersky is finished running off the rescue disk

  9. #9
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Sacramento, CA
    Posts
    20
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Flash was uninstalled and so was Java -- Rebooted and still have the issue. I have a file in \\windows\syswow64\macromed\flash

    The file can not be deleted. I rebooted into command prompt safe mode and it will let me rename the file but not delete it

    Not sure if that file is the problem


    More suggestions?

    Thanks much

  10. #10
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Sacramento, CA
    Posts
    20
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    This problem also affects windows as well not just the browsers. If you leave it for 5-10 seconds it recovers from the not responding and works fine

    Chris

  11. #11
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Johnson City, Tennessee, USA
    Posts
    3,202
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 215 Times in 202 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by csanft View Post
    This problem also affects windows as well not just the browsers. If you leave it for 5-10 seconds it recovers from the not responding and works fine

    Chris
    Chris,
    Hello... are you using a VGA card with Nvidia Graphics drivers? Regards Fred
    PlainFred

    None are so hopelessly enslaved as those who falsely believe they are free (J. W. Von Goethe)

  12. #12
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Sacramento, CA
    Posts
    20
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    No -- Mobile Intel 4 Series Express Chip

  13. #13
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    12,519
    Thanks
    152
    Thanked 1,398 Times in 1,221 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by csanft View Post
    This problem also affects windows as well not just the browsers. If you leave it for 5-10 seconds it recovers from the not responding and works fine

    Chris
    This means not just internet access, then?

  14. #14
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Sacramento, CA
    Posts
    20
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Seems to happen more on internet access but you seem to get the not responding message more than you should when using the OS

  15. #15
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    12,519
    Thanks
    152
    Thanked 1,398 Times in 1,221 Posts
    How's the cpu usage? Isn't there an app using a lot of CPU?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •