Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Advanced DNS settings disappear

    I have the same problem and can maybe share some more insight. I have a client I visit often and plug into their network. Some of the intranet sites, like SharePoint, will not connect unless the client address is entered into the advanced settings for DNS.
    I have to add "client.com" to the advanced settings under "Add these DNS suffixes (in order)" every day! I have to do this both for ipv4 and ipv6...every day!

    Can you help me us make this stay in this setting?

  2. #2
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Milwaukee, WI
    Posts
    737
    Thanks
    23
    Thanked 64 Times in 52 Posts
    The settings don't stick because DHCP is controlling them. The domain name suffix is being pushed down (or not pushed) by the DHCP server. Every time you connect and your machine requests a new IP lease, the config without the domain suffix gets populated on your machine.
    Chuck

  3. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I think i get what you are saying but what I don't get is that my colleagues running Windows XP do not have to do this and they have DHCP enabled as well

  4. #4
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Milwaukee, WI
    Posts
    737
    Thanks
    23
    Thanked 64 Times in 52 Posts
    Can you compare NIC settings with your colleagues?
    Chuck

  5. #5
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    we are all off site today but will check next week...standard company issue laptops so not sure how they would be different but will check

  6. #6
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Follow up, i did not do the comparison but i did set the proxy setting in the browser to auto detect proxy settings...it worked!!! I did not have to add the dns everday. 5 days untouched...woohoo

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •