2 Star Lounger
    Thanks

New wireless user, need help with security problem

Here's some background. I've been using a wired ethernet network since I set it up in 2004. After 5 days of rain and crappy weather, lost my DSL, and called Verizon. Wound up with a no cost upgrade to wireless. Got a Westell A90-7500 modem/router (802.11g). Setup was no problem. Got my password changed and the SSID set to not broadcast. Default security is WEP. So here's the problem. Reset security to WPA/all. Hosed my connection and had to spend 45 minutes getting everything back to where it was (didn't get any documentation from Verizon - but d/l'd one after I got things working again). Error message said that the new setting (WPA) was incompatible with my 'puter. Network has 2 laptops - 1 with XPSP3, and the main one with 7SP1, and both are working fine with WEP. WEP is WAY better than nothing at all, but I'd really like to have WPA instead. The 2 'puters are set up as a home network. I've yet to track down the problem - can anyone help with some suggestions? Thanks in advance.

Y'all take care.

Administrator
    Thanks
    Thanked 1,398 Times in 1,221 Posts
    Do both computers support WPA? Did you change their settings accordingly?

3. The Following User Says Thank You to ruirib For This Useful Post:

Patrad (2012-07-03)

2 Star Lounger
    Thanks
    Thanks ruirib. Just temporarily got back online, due to a major problem with the phone line. Service tomorrow. Anyway, both do support WPA & WPA2, just didn't have a chance to try it out last night before the phone line problem started. While I had no internet since last night, I started poking around today, and I discovered that the settings were still on WEP. So - after the line problem is fixed tomorrow, I'll do it over with WPA2 and see what happens.

Administrator
    Thanks
    Ok, keep us posted then .

6. The Following User Says Thank You to ruirib For This Useful Post:

Patrad (2012-07-03)

2 Star Lounger
    Thanks