Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    east coast
    Posts
    701
    Thanks
    89
    Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts

    Question what did i do wrong. after i ran disk clean/fix utilities

    after i ran ms functions to check and fix HD errors , and then compress the HD, now my email program takes a *long* time to load. much longer than before. i use eudora on xp pro. hotmail and most web sites seem to load in about the same time. other aps seem to load about the same as before. just eudora is now taking much longer. shouldn't fixing the HD and compressing it speed things up ??

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    I'm wondering if when you compressed the HD, your system now has to decompress the apps and data before they can be opened. Just a thought.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  3. #3
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    4,753
    Thanks
    171
    Thanked 652 Times in 575 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by speedball View Post
    just eudora is now taking much longer. shouldn't fixing the HD and compressing it speed things up ??
    No, compression may slow things down:

    "Because of a potential loss of performance, you may not want to compress some files."

    How To Use File Compression in Windows XP

    Bruce

  4. #4
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    east coast
    Posts
    701
    Thanks
    89
    Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
    could be
    i thought compress just moved the data on the hd to be near itself not actually change the data to use less room

    do i have my terms confused. should i have run something else ?

  5. #5
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    east coast
    Posts
    701
    Thanks
    89
    Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
    didnt want to compress files. i wanted to reorg where data was on the disk. did i use the wrong terminology when i did it eg picked the wrong utility to run?

  6. #6
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    east coast
    Posts
    701
    Thanks
    89
    Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
    okay

    assuming i did a compress and not a defrag which is what i had intended to do, is there a way to uncompress ??

  7. #7
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    How did you compress the HD? The 3rd post in this article may offer a solution.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  8. #8
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Florida, Usa
    Posts
    26
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 1 Post
    Quote Originally Posted by speedball View Post
    could be
    i thought compress just moved the data on the hd to be near itself not actually change the data to use less room

    do i have my terms confused. should i have run something else ?
    What you wanted to do is " De-Fragment" the hard drive also known as "Optimizing".
    http://www.techsupportalert.com/best...fragmenter.htm

  9. #9
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    east coast
    Posts
    701
    Thanks
    89
    Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
    that is what i meant
    senior moment
    is there a way to UNcompress?
    I will check the tip a couple of messages above to see if tht tells how.

  10. #10
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    See the link in my post #7. This may help.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •