Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: XPP Upgrade

  1. #1
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    England
    Posts
    1,306
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    XPP Upgrade

    Hi fwiw :
    I had been using XPP (RC!). Updated it last night to the full version. Took about an hour, but works perfectly. All previous settings preserved intact. Should I have expected anything else?
    Version reports as build 2600, except in the System Properties/General screen, where it is said to be 'version 2002'. Sounds about right, though. <img src=/S/cool.gif border=0 alt=cool width=15 height=15>

  2. #2
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    149
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: XPP Upgrade

    Did you just pop the Full XPP CD in, and run setup? Right on top of RC1? I have my RC1 in a separate G: drive. Can I do your trick there?

  3. #3
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    England
    Posts
    1,306
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: XPP Upgrade

    Hi M
    My XP is on my E: drive. Just popped the CD in Drive I:, ran Setup and chose the Upgrade (recommended) option. It must have found my original XP RC1, as I did not type in any path. About the only difference was that it did not ask me to Activate, just Register. At some time during the installation, I had to enter the 25 digit Product ID key. I can't see any reason why it should not work on your set-up as well.
    At the moment there is some update or another running, as an icon has appeared in the Systray and the text message is Downloading Updates 29% complete. I wonder what it is?
    Oh, and I had to re-install Zone Log Analyser to get the up to date info'.

    Rgds

  4. #4
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    149
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: XPP Upgrade

    Thanks MerC. I'll keep an eye on it, do not want to clobber my W2k on C:

  5. #5
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    England
    Posts
    1,306
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: XPP Upgrade

    Too true. My Win 2k is on H:

  6. #6
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    149
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: XPP Upgrade

    OK MerC ... Same same.

    Started with dual boot W2k OEM on Crive and XP-RC1 on Grive, a separate HD, both NTFS. I killed Norton 2002 AV in msconfig, rebooted the RC1 OS, popped in the XPP Full CD, and started setup on top of RC1.

    XPP Full Ver recommended 'upgrade' option, and I accepted. Put in 25 digit code, then it asked for internet connection to get updates. I manually started my DSL PPPoE connection, and it downloaded about 3 minutes.

    The only surprise came about half-way thru, when it asked for setup CD for my HP1215 Photo Printer. After setting up printer, it asked for the XPP CD again.

    After 1 hour, everything up and running with preferences maintained. I was required to enable security in the PPPoE access module for the specific users, and am on the net now.

    Overall, a good trip. It never touched my C:drive where W2k is installed, and left my dual boot intact.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •