Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Instalation

4 Star Lounger
    Thanks

Instalation

I am a novice looking for some advice a friend has been using a copy of windows for a period of time I have finally talked him into buying a genuine copy I have installed windows on a new computer but dont know much more than that when we put the new windows on his computer is it enought to just open computer and delete everything on drive c and d or do I need to download some program to a stick or cd to clean it out before instalation or is it actually simple enough that you dont have to do any of that I am aware of having to save anything that he wants to carry over. Remember i said novice so dont get to technical please and thanks ahead of time.
    Phil.

Administrator
    Thanks
    Thanked 1,398 Times in 1,221 Posts
    When installing Windows, you will be offered a choice of drives where to install, even if you have a single drive. At that time, you will have the option to format the drive. You can check steps 6 to 8 here: http://www.sevenforums.com/tutorials/1649-clean-install-windows-7-a.html
    Y
    ou will go through similar steps.

3. The Following User Says Thank You to ruirib For This Useful Post:

COWBOYPHIL (2012-06-30)

4 Star Lounger
    Thanks
    Well that was sure quick enough so essentially just run the Microsoft program analyzing if the computer can handle the the installation and just do a clean install is that correct?
    Phil.

Administrator
    Thanks
    Yes, and after choosing the clean install, when asked where should Windows be installed, just choose the current partition where Windows 7 non genuine version is installed and format it. The guide I linked to is a good one .
    Last edited by ruirib; 2012-06-30 at 05:29.

6. The Following User Says Thank You to ruirib For This Useful Post:

COWBOYPHIL (2012-06-30)

4 Star Lounger
    Thanks