Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    64
    Thanks
    14
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    The PRTSC button and Windows 7

    Hello All,

    I have two laptops that I run Win7 on: a Toshiba with Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit - and a Lenovo with Windows Professional 64 bit. The good old PrtSc button works great on the Toshiba - even Alt-PrtSc works, which captures just the active window. On the Lenovo however, the PrtSc button is useless . . . I did a google search on this issue and I am not alone - I did however find out on one forum that if I use Function-PrtSc I can capture the entire screen, but so far nothing allows me to capture just the active screen [on the Lenovo]. Yes, I know about the "Snipping Tool" - what I don't understand is WHY Alt-PrtSc works on the Toshiba with Win Home Premium 64 but WILL NOT work on the Lenovo with Win Pro 64 . . .

    Your thoughts?

    Thanks ahead of time . . . !

    Bob

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    Are you positive the actual PrtSc button is functional? I suppose the keyboard in that section could have a problem. I can think of no other reason why PrtSc would not work.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  3. #3
    Super Moderator CLiNT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    California & Arizona
    Posts
    6,121
    Thanks
    160
    Thanked 609 Times in 557 Posts
    I have a Lenovo ThinkPad X220 and can verify that the print key works fine, just the prtSc key, no alt prtSc combo.

  4. #4
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    27
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Robtimiller,

    to take a screen shot on my Lenovo ideapad

    pressing the prtsc button alone,doesn't do it.

    İ need to press the fn button first then prtsc key.

    Works perfectly.

  5. #5
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    64
    Thanks
    14
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Thank you to all!
    Ted: Yes, the prtsc key is functional.
    Clint: So you are saying that alt-prtsc does not work for you, either?
    mysoul: Yes, that is what I have been doing - using Fn-prtsc - but that captures the ENTIRE screen, correct? I am looking for the secret to capture JUST the active window . . .
    Again, thanks to all!
    Bob

  6. #6
    Super Moderator CLiNT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    California & Arizona
    Posts
    6,121
    Thanks
    160
    Thanked 609 Times in 557 Posts
    Just did a test and alt+PrtSc does work as intended. (only captures selected open window)

  7. #7
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    64
    Thanks
    14
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Clint,
    So, I wonder why it does not work on my Lenovo [SL410]??
    Thanks again,
    Bob

  8. #8
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    I learned something new today. Thanks everyone. I did not realize Alt+PrtSc would just copy the active window.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  9. #9
    Super Moderator CLiNT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    California & Arizona
    Posts
    6,121
    Thanks
    160
    Thanked 609 Times in 557 Posts
    Go to the Lenovo site and download a user manual for your specific model, or check your documentation.
    From what I am seeing, not all models may have this specific (alt+prtSc) function. Of course too, you may need to activate the alt+prtSc by first pressing, enabling/disabling the "Fn" key.

    http://www.thinkpads.com/2009/11/04/...w-models-only/

  10. #10
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    64
    Thanks
    14
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    CLiNT,

    Again thank you.

    I did a search in my Lenovo manual for PrtSc and it brought up a chart explaining the purposes of the function keys. In it, it explained that Fn-PrtSc served the same purpose as the SysRq key. However, when I searched for SysRq, there was nothing. So, I Googled it and now understand that the SysRq key at one time allowed a person to switch between OSes [in the DOS days].

    So, still nowhere but . . . Your link to a page pertaining to a means being available by which the Fn and Ctrl can be remapped and thus swapped makes a lot of sense to me - I "keyboard" in a lot of cases - such as Ctrl-X, Ctrl-C, Ctrl-V and countless times I hit the Fn key which is where I expect the Ctrl key to be. Oh well.

    Again, Thanks.
    Bob

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •