Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Birkirkara, Malta
    Posts
    1,467
    Thanks
    205
    Thanked 15 Times in 14 Posts

    Automatically Log In to Win 8 RP

    When I boot to Win 8 RP I have to enter my Windows Live ID password before I can access the desktop. Is there any way to avoid having to do this? (Admittedly it's only a minor inconvenience).

    Help would be appreciated.

    Thanks and regards, Roy
    OS Dual Boot Windows 10 Pro 64 Bit & Windows 7 Pro With SP1 64 bit. (Intel Core i7 2600K Processor LGA1155-Asus P867 Pro Motherboard-GTX550 Ti DirectCU Graphics Card-Memory 8GB)

    Roy Whitethread

  2. #2
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Montréal
    Posts
    1,798
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 53 Times in 52 Posts
    Roy, hello.
    I have to do this too, every time. I think that if you went to Control Panel -> Users and deleted your password in your profile, that would do the trick. I do not thi k that this is smart specially if you use a LAN to access other machines if you have any. A PW is required every time that you try the LAN.
    Be good. Jean.

  3. #3
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    Open Charms Bar (Cursor to lower or upper right hand corner), Setting, Change PC Settings, Users tab. Change to Local account.

    The other possibility

    Open Cmd Prompt, Win + X, Command Prompt (admin) type "control userpasswords2" enter

    Uncheck the checkbox:
    "Users has to enter a user name and password to use this computer"
    and then Click "Apply"

    UserPassword.jpg
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  4. The Following User Says Thank You to Medico For This Useful Post:

    acbeaton (2012-07-11)

  5. #4
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Fishkill, New York, USA
    Posts
    435
    Thanks
    96
    Thanked 35 Times in 31 Posts

  6. The Following User Says Thank You to rmonroe36 For This Useful Post:

    royw (2012-07-04)

  7. #5
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Birkirkara, Malta
    Posts
    1,467
    Thanks
    205
    Thanked 15 Times in 14 Posts
    Thanks for the replies. I followed the directions in the rmonroe36 link and that did the trick first time.

    Best regards, Roy
    OS Dual Boot Windows 10 Pro 64 Bit & Windows 7 Pro With SP1 64 bit. (Intel Core i7 2600K Processor LGA1155-Asus P867 Pro Motherboard-GTX550 Ti DirectCU Graphics Card-Memory 8GB)

    Roy Whitethread

  8. #6
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    Glad it worked Roy. Looks to be the same as my instructions. I believe Netplwiz goes to the same place as control userpasswords2. I just checked, they do.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  9. #7
    Star Lounger acbeaton's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Gullane, East Lothian, Scotland.
    Posts
    60
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    Used your fist method, Ted, and boot right through to Start screen is noticeably (several seconds) faster than the 45 seconds it used to take to the Lock screen.

  10. #8
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    Glad it helped you. I still use the password because I sign into my Live account when I boot.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •