Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    158
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    IE9 icon gone, menu options gone

    System is Win7, fully updates, good AV protection current.

    Problem is as follows. This morning I was presented with the program that allows you to select which browser you would like to use. This is odd, as I have always used IE9 as my standard browser and asked to be notified if it was no longer the standard. The icon on the task bar and in the all programs menu has disappeared and is now the generic icon. Also, if I right click on the Internet Explorer in the list of programs, there are no options available, such as attaching it to the task bar or Start menu. If I start IE, it appears to run correctly. Any ideas on how to solve this?

    If I go to the Configuration screen and select remove programs, remove parts of Windows and then remove IE, will I still be able to restart my pc and reinstall IE, or should I first install another browser just to be sure I can still access the internet?

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    12,519
    Thanks
    152
    Thanked 1,398 Times in 1,221 Posts
    Is IE the default browser? Do you know how to set it as the default browser, if it is not?

  3. #3
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    158
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Yes, IE is set to be the default browser.

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    If your PC came with IE 9 by default, I suspect you will not be able to remove it. If however it came with IE 8 by default, if you choose to remove IE 9 it will reinstall IE 8 automatically. If this is the case you can try to download IE 9 again.

    It is possible somehow the Shortcuts have been corrupted. You might be able to find IE in Windows Explorer and create new Shortcuts.
    Last edited by Medico; 2012-07-07 at 07:31.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  5. #5
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    12,519
    Thanks
    152
    Thanked 1,398 Times in 1,221 Posts
    Do you have a recent restore point, that you can go back to?

  6. #6
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    158
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Just tried that. I restored using a point several days ago and got the following results. IE9 is now back on the start menu, it shows correctly on the task bar. From the Start menu I can start IE9 in the In-private mode. However, from the All programs menu, if I right click on IE there are now other options available, such as attaching it to the Start menu or Task bar. Seems rather odd. I'm not sure anymore, but this version of Win7 may be a student version. Is it possible that MS has altered some of the functionality in this version?

    Also, what I found when I did the restore, I looked to see what programs were going to be affected. Interestingly enough, the program that offers you the choice of which browser to set as standard has recently been updated for users in Europe. That may explain why it showed up on the screen this morning.

  7. #7
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    Control Panel, System should show the version of Windows you have installed.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  8. #8
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    158
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Just says Win7 Pro, 32-bit version, but no further information.

  9. #9
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    So you have the 32 Bit version of Win 7 Pro installed. This is one of the highest versions of Win 7.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  10. #10
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    12,519
    Thanks
    152
    Thanked 1,398 Times in 1,221 Posts
    I have chosen not to install the update for that program (or the original program, for that matter). I just right clicked it and chose hide. I really don't need the EU commission to tell me what I can do in my computers. The program is useless.

  11. #11
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    Since I am unfamiliar with this app, I would say try to uninstall this update to see if this solves your problem. If it screwed with your system, you might have to do a System Restore from before the update.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  12. #12
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    158
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Guess I'll just have to settle for the current situation for the moment. IE seems to work properly, but it remains a riddle as to why the right-click doen't seem to get any response.

    Thanks to all who offered help and advice, I guess we'll call this one case closed.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •