Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
    Posts
    73
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Active windows switches to inactive

    I did a complete, clean reinstall of Vista Business on an HP notebook just three weeks ago and now, the active window switches to inactive without warning.

    Nothing else happens, just the top bar changes colour and the window stops working. It happens while I am scrolling a newspaper site, while writing a comment on a forum or even just playing Solitaire. It happened when I went to scroll down to the submit button on this post.

    Being a new, clean install, I have installed all the critical updates so the system is fully up to date.

    Does anybody have a solution?

  2. Subscribe to our Windows Secrets Newsletter - It's Free!

    Get our unique weekly Newsletter with tips and techniques, how to's and critical updates on Windows 7, Windows 8, Windows XP, Firefox, Internet Explorer, Google, etc. Join our 480,000 subscribers!

    Excel 2013: The Missing Manual

    + Get this BONUS — free!

    Get the most of Excel! Learn about new features, basics of creating a new spreadsheet and using the infamous Ribbon in the first chapter of Excel 2013: The Missing Manual - Subscribe and download Chapter 1 for free!

  3. #2
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Johnson City, Tennessee, USA
    Posts
    3,203
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 212 Times in 199 Posts
    geoffgg,
    Hello... What happens if you press Alt+Tab, when this happens? Regards Fred
    PlainFred

    None are so hopelessly enslaved as those who falsely believe they are free (J. W. Von Goethe)

  4. #3
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
    Posts
    73
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    G'dayFred

    Alt-Tab makes the window active again, as does clicking the left mouse button once anywhere in the window. Alt-Tab does not go to another application windows as it normally does.

  5. #4
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    20,381
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 595 Times in 532 Posts
    It appears you have something running that is grabbing control. Have you checked what is started when you boot the PC? Have you run a malware scan?

    Joe

  6. #5
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,625
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 929 Times in 851 Posts
    I would use either What's In Startup (download link is down a ways on the page) or Autoruns for Windows to check the apps starting with Windows.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  7. #6
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
    Posts
    73
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Joe, I've maintained malware protection. Ted, what do I do with the list from What's in Startup.

    There are a few things that I don't recognise but most of what's there is system related. One that I don't know about is WinZip Quick Pick. I always run WinZip from the context menu and told it not to install the Quick Pick application when I upgraded to WinZip 16.

  8. #7
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,625
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 929 Times in 851 Posts
    What I did was Google each entry then decided what I needed and what I did not need. You will probably find most of the items starting are unnecessary. If this does not help. post a screen shot of the list. Heck, even most of the "system related" stuff is not necessary. I would be willing to bet most of that is OEM related stuff that the manufacturer thinks is necessary. Just ain't so!
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •