Results 1 to 5 of 5
  • Thread Tools
  1. 2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Montgomery, AL
    Posts
    121
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Memory Problem in MSConfig Boot-Advanced

    Hi folks,
    After a catastrophic BSOD Config.Sys shutdown, I tried everything available to get back up in recover console etc. - I finally used the Windows OS disk and was able to choose a three day old Restore Point. That worked, however, I was only able to get into safe mode........so, after an exercise in futility, I was ready to do a Repair Install / or / Clean Install. I put the Win7 64 Disk in and after loading files, it came up and said that there was only 256 meg of memory
    and that Win7 required 500 meg minimum..............OK, I went to msconfig / boot tab / advanced options and the ram box only showed 256 meg. I changed that to 8000 (I have 8 gig) - but it would only change to 3194. I accepted that and Win7 started fine to desktop.

    On the desktop - in Device Manager, it showed 8 gig installed, 6194 available - yes, I know that 125meg is used for services. I ran the Msconfig again, and it only show Max ram as 3194, not 8 gig. I then ran the memory test and all modules came back successful.

    At this point, what do I need to do to fix this or MSCONFIG?.

    Thanks so much and have a blessed one.

    Tom

  2. Subscribe to our Windows Secrets Newsletter - It's Free!

    Get our unique weekly Newsletter with tips and techniques, how to's and critical updates on Windows 7, Windows 8, Windows XP, Firefox, Internet Explorer, Google, etc. Join our 480,000 subscribers!

    Excel 2013: The Missing Manual

    + Get this BONUS — free!

    Get the most of Excel! Learn about new features, basics of creating a new spreadsheet and using the infamous Ribbon in the first chapter of Excel 2013: The Missing Manual - Subscribe and download Chapter 1 for free!

  3. Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,625
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 928 Times in 851 Posts
    The repair install might be in order. A recent Image would have put you back in about 10 minutes (The wonder of Up To Date Images). You should be able to do the Repair Install from the installation media.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  4. Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Johnson City, Tennessee, USA
    Posts
    3,203
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 212 Times in 199 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by cthiggin View Post

    At this point, what do I need to do to fix this or MSCONFIG?.
    Tom,
    Hello... On the outside chance check ( Right Click) Computer>Properties> Advanced system settings>Advanced>Performance>Settings>Advanced Check that your RAM settings haven't changed.. Not sure what yo mean "Device Manager" showed 3194? Can you change the "Ram Box" setting? Regards Fred
    Last edited by Just Plain Fred; 2012-07-11 at 18:55.
    PlainFred

    None are so hopelessly enslaved as those who falsely believe they are free (J. W. Von Goethe)

  5. Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    4,209
    Thanks
    55
    Thanked 473 Times in 424 Posts
    The maximum memory checkbox in the MSConfig boot tab should be unchecked. You only want to enable it with a value you supply if you want to limit the amount of memory used during boot.

    Jerry

  6. 2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Montgomery, AL
    Posts
    121
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Just Plain Fred:
    It now shows 8 gig. What I "meant" to say - RtClick My Computer \ Click Properties - and the opened window shows Ram - Mine was showing 8 gig, 3194 available. It's 8 now.

    Jerry: I unchecked the MSConfig boot tab and rebooted - Now the 8 gig is present and at this point "my recovery" appears ok.
    What is stumping me - the initial BSOD - what in the world caused the MS Config Boot Tab to be locked at 256 and checked? I didn't touch a thing.

    Aren't pc's just lovely (at times).

    Thanks so very very much for your input.
    Have a most blessed one.
    Tom

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •