Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 17
  1. #1
    Plutonium Lounger Leif's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    14,010
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Removing Taskbar Icons

    These taskbar icons are usually there as determined in the individual programs setup options.
    I think the Real Player icon is set in View > Preferences > Start Centre

  2. #2
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Alzano Lombardo, Italy
    Posts
    1,483
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Removing Taskbar Icons

    The right portion of the taskbar (which is usually at the bottom of the screen) has, to the left of the clock, a series of icons(see image).
    Is it possible to permanently delete a chosen icon, like, e.g., the Real Player icon you see indicated by the cursor arrow?
    Attached Images Attached Images

  3. #3
    Plutonium Lounger Leif's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    14,010
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Capturing Drop-Down Box

    Do you mean like this?
    Attached Images Attached Images

  4. #4
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Alzano Lombardo, Italy
    Posts
    1,483
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Exactly!

    How can you keep the dropped-down list from closing when you right-click on the Hardcopy icon in the System Tray?
    <font color=ff69b4>Ciao</font color=ff69b4>

  5. #5
    Plutonium Lounger Leif's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    14,010
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Exactly!

    By not right_clicking on the Hardcopy icon!

    Tip: hit your PrintScreen key instead. This captures the whole screen, so you must select just the relevant area you want.

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger Leif's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    14,010
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Exactly!

    My PrintScreen key prints the screen and copies the the whole screen to the Hardcopy window.
    So does left_clicking the Hardcopy icon.

    I have registered and paid for my version - maybe that's the difference.....
    Attached Images Attached Images

  7. #7
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Alzano Lombardo, Italy
    Posts
    1,483
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Removing Taskbar Icons

    Thanks Leif. You know, using the Hardcopy utility (you advised me about it in a post of yours(53548) that's been deleted together with its thread) is very handy but I can't make Hardcopy capture an Open Dialog box with any of its combo/list boxes(say, e.g., "Save as Type") dropped down; no sooner do I open Hardcopy by right-clicking on the Hardcopy icon in the System Tray than the box dropped-down list closes.
    Is it feasible?
    <font color=ff69b4>Ciao</font color=ff69b4>

  8. #8
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Alzano Lombardo, Italy
    Posts
    1,483
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Exactly!

    Unfortunately my PrintScreen key does what it says, i.e. prints the screen. How can I set it to capture the whole screen instead?
    <font color=ff69b4>Ciao</font color=ff69b4>

  9. #9
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Alzano Lombardo, Italy
    Posts
    1,483
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    That it is

    My PrintScreen key and left-clicking the Hardcopy icon only print, they don't copy the whole screen to the Hardcopy window.
    I'll register and pay too.
    <font color=ff69b4>Thanks, ciao</font color=ff69b4>

  10. #10
    ileacy
    Guest

    Re: That it is

    In Hardcopy (free or registered) use Settings | Functions to set your defaults.

    Click the Print Screen button and then the next button.

    Change the radio button on the first screen to "Rectangle". Click Next.

    Uncheck "Print". Check "Open Hardcopy Window". Click Next.

    Check anything you want on this screen. In my case I usually leave it a default (nothing checked). Click Finish.

    Should be working fine now.

  11. #11
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Quakertown, PA, Pennsylvania, USA
    Posts
    517
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Removing Taskbar Icons

    grovelli: I wondered if you ever figured out how to get rid of the rest of those icons?

    All I have is McAfee and volume.

    Go to Start-Run and type:

    msconfig

    and hit enter. Go to the startup tab. I've removed everything (home PC) except Virus Scanner stuff and systray. You may want to jot down everything that's checked before you start. This stuff can greatly slowdown the startup and running of your PC. If you're unsure what some of the stuff is, just ask, I know most of it.

  12. #12
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
    Posts
    405
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Removing Taskbar Icons

    With that amount of stuff in your System Tray (i.e. running), I'm surprised your system hasn't ground to a halt; but more importantly, there seem to be a lot of red crosses and similar next to icons, possibly indicating problems. Having trouble with anything? Might be worth looking in Device Manager to check that there are no problem devices highlighted.
    We never really grow up, we only learn how to act in public.

  13. #13
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Alzano Lombardo, Italy
    Posts
    1,483
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Removing Taskbar Icons

    Thanks Ann,
    My notebook is working just fine and I have qualms about tinkering under its hood lest it could go awry.
    Plus I don't see what I could uncheck (see <A target="_blank" HREF=http://www.wopr.com/cgi-bin/w3t/showthreaded.pl?Cat=&Board=98&Number=90838&page=0& view=&sb=&o=&vc=1> this</A> too)

    If you really look like the photo a wolf whistle is in order...
    <font color=ff69b4>Ciao</font color=ff69b4>
    Attached Images Attached Images

  14. #14
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Alzano Lombardo, Italy
    Posts
    1,483
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Removing Taskbar Icons

    <A target="_blank" HREF=http://www.wopr.com/cgi-bin/w3t/showthreaded.pl?Cat=&Board=98&Number=90840&page=0& view=&sb=&o=&vc=1> link</A>
    Attached Images Attached Images

  15. #15
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Quakertown, PA, Pennsylvania, USA
    Posts
    517
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Removing Taskbar Icons

    Okay, I'll be working with two IE windows here....LOL

    Here's what they are (the ones I know, anyway), and what I would do--so take it with a grain of salt everyone.

    ScanRegistry--It does what it says, registries rarely go corrupt, I'd turn it off.
    TaskMonitor--Double-click the icon for it in your tray. You probably don't even run any tasks, why run the monitor?
    SystemTray--Your clock & tray down there. Leave it.
    IrMon--An infrared device on your PC. If you don't use it, turn it off.
    Promon--I forget, but I don't think you need it.
    LoadPowerProfile--This hooks into bios settings that shut off 'puter automatically, etc. I don't use it, I'd turn it off.
    Ati--I forget (graphics card?) Leave it.
    LTSMMSG--Dunno, some kind of message tool.
    AcerPowerkey--I think that's for an "internet" keyboard. I don't use one, but if you do, you prolly need it.
    PRPCMonitor--No clue.
    AspireTimeMachine--Sounds cutesy and you prolly don't need.
    SleepManager--Prolly lets PC go to sleep. When I want mine to go ni-nights, I shut it off, you prolly don't need it.
    SynTPLpr-No clue, some kind of synchronization.
    SynTPEnh-Ditto
    KEYMAP-No clue.
    AtiPTA--Again, I leave everything Ati...
    vptray--Leave it, it's your Virus Protection icon in the tray.
    PWSTray--Dunno, prolly don't need it.
    LoadPowerProfile--definitely don't need, it's a duplicate (remove all duplicates).
    SchedulingAgent--Prolly don't need, I don't use.
    AtiPOLAB--leave it.
    Leave any Norton AV stuff.
    inetinfo--Dunno, but you prolly don't need it.
    Lotus quickstart-Remove, it's worthless.
    MSOfficeStartup--remove, worthless
    Hardcopy--dunno. Is that a screen capture? What's wrong with windows screen capture?

    Good luck with it, okay!! Don't mind my comments, I tend to be sarcastic when dealing with all this stuff that programs need to put in your startup. What I would REALLY do is uncheck everything but systemtray and virus checker stuff, restart your pc and see if it hurts. It should NOT, I repeat, should not, HURT your PC to do this. If something is "missing" or doesn't work right, you'll be able to figure out what checkmark you need to put back in. Items won't disappear because you remove a checkmark.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •