Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    when clicking on X for shutting down programmes ,programmes freezes

    all open programmes freeze when trying to shut them down and programs do not appear in task manager. Any ideas on fixing this problem , which does go away when restarting computer but eventually happens again
    thanks
    ps I have just found out that if I leave things for a while the programs do shut down .

    I have 1 gb of ram
    Last edited by dysney; 2012-07-12 at 03:07.

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    12,519
    Thanks
    152
    Thanked 1,398 Times in 1,221 Posts
    Seems you found your own solution, then? Even for XP, 1 GB RAM is not too much and if you do have a few programs running and programs may take some time to close.

  3. #3
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    You might want to see Fred Langa's House Call article in this weeks Newsletter. He discusses Wait To Kill. This could be part of your problem.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  4. #4
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Can't find the newsletter mentioned thanks

  5. #5
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    will put more ram in and see if problem goes away, as I had no problems for quite a few years with 1 gb of ram

  6. #6
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,794
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 799 Times in 720 Posts
    1 gig of Ram should be sufficient for XP in most cases. Try a Clean Boot and see if the problem still occurs.
    See: http://support.microsoft.com/kb/310353

    If the problem goes away in clean boot, re enable things in groups to isolate the cause.

    Jerry

  7. #7
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    12,519
    Thanks
    152
    Thanked 1,398 Times in 1,221 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by jwitalka View Post
    1 gig of Ram should be sufficient for XP in most cases.
    Actually my experience is different. It really depends on the programs you use and the number of programs you use at the same time, but I have seen XP computers just running Outlook and a browser improve immensely in performance, with a simple jump from 1 GB to 2 GB RAM.

    Of course, I can offer no guarantees that the situation described here will improve, but it's quite possible that it will.

  8. #8
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    Did you try the link I provided for the newsletter article?
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  9. #9
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,794
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 799 Times in 720 Posts
    Rui, most of the XP systems I've upgraded had 512 megs or less. They all ran much faster at 1 gig. I can't say that they wouldn't run faster with another gig but I didn't see any noticeable improvement with the one system that I upgraded to 1.5 gig. I guess it really depends on hardware and the software used. I would really be surprised if adding memory to a system that already has 1 gig would solve the severe delay problem mentioned by the OP.

    Most of the XP systems are older computers and memory is relatively expensive. I try to keep my clients costs down to the lowest level that gives acceptable performance, especially on older hardware. Its strange that XP ran very well with 512 megs when it first came out. Now, I would say that 1 gig is the minimum for decent performance.

    Jerry

    Its strange

  10. #10
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    12,519
    Thanks
    152
    Thanked 1,398 Times in 1,221 Posts
    I agree, Jerry, the jump from 512K to 1GB is the one that produces the most obvious improvement performance. I did see some remarkable improvements when going from 1 GB to 2GB. I guess it all depends on the number of programs running and their memory usage, as well.

  11. #11
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Ted Myers

    thanks but can't find thread

  12. #12
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    There is a link in my first post. I just tried it and it worked fine. The link is a different color and starts with Fred and ends with call.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •