Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Wellington NZ
    Posts
    32
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    USB scanner connection across a room?

    I hope this is a simple question (with an inexpensive answer):

    I have a scanner at one end of a room on a desk it shares with two printers and a network hub. There used to be an old XP box under the desk that the scanner was attached to, but the motherboard in that PC died and I don't intend to replace it. By the time it died the scanner software was just about all it was used for. I would like to connect the scanner to the main desktop PC which happens to be positioned at the other end of the room - and which I would rather not move. But there isn't really anywhere convenient to move the scanner close by, so I wonder if it is feasible to connect several USB extenders so that I can leave the scanner where it is. The resulting cable would need to be around 6-7m in extent. Is this pushing the technology too far?

    Cheers
    T

  2. #2
    Super Moderator CLiNT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    California & Arizona
    Posts
    6,121
    Thanks
    160
    Thanked 609 Times in 557 Posts
    It may depend upon the type of scanner, a powered scanner with it's own AC plug, should be no problem.
    A flatbed scanner with just the USB cable as a power source, maybe [iffy]. I don't think you would have much to loose by trying at any rate.

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to CLiNT For This Useful Post:

    aquatarkus (2012-07-24)

  4. #3
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Wellington NZ
    Posts
    32
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    OK thanks. Yes it has its own power. The USB connection is data only. I'll let you know how I get on :-)

  5. #4
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    If that does not work you might look at wireless connections. A lot would depend on whether the scanner and PC have wireless ability. This can be added to a PC rather inexpensively, but I do not believe it can be added to a scanner, and from that era, it probably does not have the capability.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  6. #5
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Wellington NZ
    Posts
    32
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Hmm, I looked at network-capable scanners but they are so much more expensive that I'd rather reorganise the house than buy one :-)
    Pleased to say that a 5m cable appears to be working fine.

  7. #6
    Super Moderator BATcher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    A cultural area in SW England
    Posts
    3,413
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 195 Times in 175 Posts
    The 5m cable is the maximum length the spec allows.
    BATcher

    Time prevents everything happening all at once...

  8. #7
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Florida, Usa
    Posts
    26
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 1 Post
    Other options
    Try a powered hub in between cable runs scanner>cable>hub>cable>PC

    Use a wireless USB adapter set

    if the scanner and pc have a ethernet port use a ethernet cable 6-7m is well within its limit.

  9. #8
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Slough, Berkshire UK
    Posts
    924
    Thanks
    55
    Thanked 52 Times in 50 Posts
    Maybe one of these will do it together with a wireless dongle for the PC
    Clive

    All typing errors are my own work and subject to patents pending. Except errors by the spell checker. And that has its own patients.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •