Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Florida, USA
    Posts
    17
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

    Locked out of Facebook: unauthorized ads message

    On my desktop computer, Facebook has locked me out with the message: "It looks like you downloaded software that is affecting your Facebook account and showing you unauthorized ads. ..." I get the message in FF and Chrome, but not IE8 (or an older version of Opera). I don't get the message on my laptop on any browser. Other sites have said that it's Avast AV that's causing the block, but that is on my laptop also, and I've turned it off totally on the desktop. All other solutions seem to be generalizations and guesses, which were of no value. These included deleting the HOSTS file, which is original from 2009 and empty except for standard comments on use. I did check my proxy setting (none set) and everything else I could think of.

    EDIT: this happens immediately after logging into FB, and the connection has changed to "https" and then the "error" message. I do not have FB set to use a secure connection, and it does not use "https" on my laptop.

    temp.jpg

    After clicking "Secure account", it goes to a message that will download and install McAfee Scan and Repair. A previous message said I can alternatively run Microsoft Security Essentials, which I did, but I still have the same problem.

    temp1.jpg

    If anyone has a solution, please let me know. I don't want to download and install McAfee (which other sites report doesn't work). I don't trust FB, and any affiliation they might concoct, especially when it requires me to use their sponsored software.

    Thanks in advance.
    Last edited by cpusrvc; 2012-08-18 at 20:17.

  2. Subscribe to our Windows Secrets Newsletter - It's Free!

    Get our unique weekly Newsletter with tips and techniques, how to's and critical updates on Windows 7, Windows 8, Windows XP, Firefox, Internet Explorer, Google, etc. Join our 480,000 subscribers!

    Excel 2013: The Missing Manual

    + Get this BONUS — free!

    Get the most of Excel! Learn about new features, basics of creating a new spreadsheet and using the infamous Ribbon in the first chapter of Excel 2013: The Missing Manual - Subscribe and download Chapter 1 for free!

  3. #2
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,625
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 928 Times in 851 Posts
    I believe you just got hit with a scam app, or malware. Have you actually gone to Facebook and tried to sign in? The first pop up was a scam, and when you clicked on the Secure Account button you allowed the malware to install on your PC.

    Anything that pops up like this should be closed using the Task Manager (Ctrl+Alt+Del).

    You should run Malwarebytes Antimalware full scan in safe mode. If the PC will not let you download and run this, use a different PC and download the app to a flash drive.

    I would also run a full scan with your AV/AM app.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  4. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Florida, USA
    Posts
    17
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Ted, the message shows up immediately upon signing in to FB. It's their web page (https://www.facebook.com/checkpoint/) saying it, it's not a scam. The McAfee message also is from the FB site. I have run Avast, MS Security Essentials and Combofix. I'll try the malwarebytes, I've used it many times in the past. After closing the page, opening http://fb.com again, then logging in, I now get each of these new messages that end the same way ... (note that FB still works on my laptop)

    temp.jpg
    Last edited by cpusrvc; 2012-07-19 at 09:24.

  5. #4
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Florida, USA
    Posts
    17
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    UPDATE: Malwarebytes made no difference. I wish I knew what FB is using to determine that something in my computer is showing unauthorized ads. While I use Ad Blocker in FF (on both computers), I don't have any add-ons for Chrome, and both have the problem on the desktop computer. However, it must be something to do with the browsers, because IE8 doesn't have the problem.

    Ted, thanks for your jumping in.

    Anyone else have any suggestions?
    Last edited by cpusrvc; 2012-07-19 at 15:25.

  6. #5
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,625
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 928 Times in 851 Posts
    Sorry, I have no other ideas. I have all 3 browsers and do not have a problem when I go to FB.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  7. The Following User Says Thank You to Medico For This Useful Post:

    cpusrvc (2012-07-19)

  8. #6
    Silver Lounger t8ntlikly's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Chandler, AZ
    Posts
    1,970
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 11 Times in 9 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by cpusrvc View Post
    On my desktop computer, Facebook has locked me out with the message: "It looks like you downloaded software that is affecting your Facebook account and showing you unauthorized ads. ..." I get the message in FF and Chrome, but not IE8 (or an older version of Opera). I don't get the message on my laptop on any browser. Other sites have said that it's Avast AV that's causing the block, but that is on my laptop also, and I've turned it off totally on the desktop. All other solutions seem to be generalizations and guesses, which were of no value. These included deleting the HOSTS file, which is original from 2009 and empty except for standard comments on use. I did check my proxy setting (none set) and everything else I could think of.

    temp.jpg

    After clicking "Secure account", it goes to a message that will download and install McAfee Scan and Repair. A previous message said I can alternatively run Microsoft Security Essentials, which I did, but I still have the same problem.

    temp1.jpg

    If anyone has a solution, please let me know. I don't want to download and install McAfee (which other sites report doesn't work). I don't trust FB, and any affiliation they might concoct, especially when it requires me to use their sponsored software.

    Thanks in advance.
    ;
    FWIW, Two things stick out to me. 1: the URL's should be http://facebook.com, and not facebook.com/checkpoint, and 2: fb.com? Just for giggles I c/p'd the first one into an InPrivate browsing tab and it opened a facebook page with a completely different ID than I use on FB. The second one I didn't even try.
    I know Facebook offered or maybe still offering McAffee but even they wouldn't have the gaul to install it without your permission, and because you say you can login from your laptop, that would indicate that they (Facebook) haven't.
    If you can still login with your laptop, I might even go so far as to agree with Ted, that you have a virus..... I would login using your laptop, and recheck all of your account and security settings. For sure, when you get online with your laptop change the login security to https, from http. You can do this under Account Settings, Security.
    Thanks John
    Teamwork is essential; it gives the enemy other people to shoot at. (Murphy's War Laws #39)

  9. #7
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    2,676
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 331 Times in 300 Posts
    This isn't a scam. You can unlock your account by either running the McAfee Scan and Repair or certifying that you have run MSE:

    Facebook launches malware checkpoints for users with infected computers


    But it has caused a few problems:

    Facebook security 'checkpoint' hits user roadblock


    Bruce
    Last edited by BruceR; 2012-07-22 at 09:32.

  10. #8
    Silver Lounger t8ntlikly's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Chandler, AZ
    Posts
    1,970
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 11 Times in 9 Posts
    Good catch Bruce, I never saw that link. BTW both of your links are to the same page. Would be interested in the second link when you change it.
    thanks
    John
    Thanks John
    Teamwork is essential; it gives the enemy other people to shoot at. (Murphy's War Laws #39)

  11. #9
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    2,676
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 331 Times in 300 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by t8ntlikly View Post
    BTW both of your links are to the same page. Would be interested in the second link when you change it.
    Sorry about that. Now corrected.

    Bruce

  12. #10
    Silver Lounger t8ntlikly's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Chandler, AZ
    Posts
    1,970
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 11 Times in 9 Posts
    Thanks
    Thanks John
    Teamwork is essential; it gives the enemy other people to shoot at. (Murphy's War Laws #39)

  13. #11
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Lower Mainland, BC Canada
    Posts
    14
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Go to somebody else's computer and try to sign in. I think you have some malware. Once you got infected, none of the AV/Malware scanner will help you.

  14. #12
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    MacAfee Scan And Repair "FREE"

    This is a copy of the message that Solved the isseu for me, it was very fast and easy.--- You can clean up the cookies etc. And reset IE to factory defaults. Depending on your IE version, you may have different options but check this. (Meanwhile close the prompt asking you to download the McAfee)



    Open IE> click Tools> Internet Options. In the Internet Options, click the Advanced tab and then at the bottom click the Reset button. Before you click Reset, make sure there are not other IE windows opened on the screen.



    On the Reset IE settings screen, select the Delete personal settings check box and then click Reset. IE will now begin to reset the settings to default. When done, IE will prompt you to restart. Close the IE window and reopen it. Try to load up the Facebook website. If the page still does not load up, open your antivirus and update it with the latest updates. Try loading Facebook afterwards.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •