Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,625
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 931 Times in 852 Posts

    Possible change in RTM to allow boot directly to Desktop

    The Windows 8 RTM Blog is showing some changes, one of which allows an option to boot directly to the Desktop UI.

    This will remove one of the major hurdles that the naysayers keep throwing up.
    Last edited by Medico; 2012-07-24 at 12:12.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    2,768
    Thanks
    81
    Thanked 340 Times in 307 Posts
    "Would you like to automatically go to the desktop when you login to this computer?

    You can alter this by right-clicking the start button later"

    There's a start button?

    Bruce

  3. #3
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,625
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 931 Times in 852 Posts
    Could be a typo and should have read Start Menu??? Not sure. This is the first visit at this web site so I am unsure if these changes are real or not, but if so, very nice.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  4. #4
    Bronze Lounger Drew1903's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Calgary
    Posts
    1,332
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 100 Times in 79 Posts
    Well, it's semantics, really. There's always been a Start button... just, that's it's rectangular, instead of round & only shows upon going to the Bottom-Left Corner

    Cool, having a 1 time query to opt to go straight-away to Desktop. That'd be alright, for sure!

    Drew

    new_windows_logo1.jpg

  5. #5
    Bronze Lounger Drew1903's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Calgary
    Posts
    1,332
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 100 Times in 79 Posts
    Weird... can't see the part about this in the article, any more... it was there earlier today. Very strange, that is. Was up @ top & now, looked 3 times... just not part of the article. Quite bizarre.

    Drew

    new_windows_logo1.jpg

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,625
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 931 Times in 852 Posts
    You are correct. This one option appears to have been removed. Perhaps it was not correct. That is too bad if so.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  7. #7
    Bronze Lounger Drew1903's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Calgary
    Posts
    1,332
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 100 Times in 79 Posts
    I guess, Ted... but, like we have said so often, 1 hit to ENTER or 1 click to Desktop really isn't worth getting all stressed over what's, really, nothing.

    Personally, I like having the choice to grab some APP or 2 I might want to activate when I (1st) hit Start @ boot-up or get them from Desktop after I go (directly) there. Variety, flexibility in approaches can be acceptable & appealing.

    Cheers,
    Drew

    new_windows_logo1.jpg

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •