Lounger
    Thanks

Where goeth Desktop Icons?

Hello, I'm new to The Lounge, though not to Windows Secrets and to Fred Langa's site - I've been a paid-up on and off for many years. The Lounge seems a friendly place and I'm happy to find I can understand half of what goes on!

I'm running Windows 7 on a new and uncluttered system.

I have arranged my desktop icons in the same relative place for over ten years and I get a bit peeved when Windows 7 decides I need to conform.

Things might be different if I could leave my PC on all the time. As it is, even though I have unticked Autoarrange Icons and Align Icons to Grid when I restart, Windows is very likely to move all my icons to the left of the screen. It's a bit like someone coming to your desk and moving all the papers around. It doesn't happen all the time, but it certainly will on the weekly Microsoft update.

Is there any extra trick I can use to stop this happening, please? I'll be very grateful for any suggestions.

Russell

Administrator
    Thanks
    Thanked 1,398 Times in 1,221 Posts
    Hi,

Welcome to the Lounge.

That seems to be quite a recurrent issue and I think there are no fixes for it. The effects can, maybe, be countered, by using a tool such as IconRestorer. Maybe give it a try and see if it helps.

5 Star Lounger
    Thanks
    My way of overcoming this annoying event is to not show any icons by un-ticking the right click option on desktop. Then r/c on the task bar and add the desktop toolbar. Then all icons placed on desktop are accessible by clicking on the double arrows. Also you then have the option when r/c the popup to arrange list in name order.
    I like this option because it allows me to have a picture slide show of desktop background without icons cluttering up the picture.
    Not everyone's cup of tea but an option.