Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    Banned Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Calgary
    Posts
    2,522
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 170 Times in 142 Posts

    Lightbulb Ribbon - Now U C It, Now U Don't.

    IF, y'all know this, well, that's just ducky Just pretend you never saw/read this. For the rest of you, here it is...

    For windows that include Ribbon:

    Example... the View tab is hit & the View Ribbon shows/opens... if, that same tab is hit, again, its Ribbon will close/no longer be showing. Holds true for all Ribbon tabs.

    OR

    You can have, only, the parts of the Ribbon showing that you want or need & only, whilst, you want or need (1 of) them.

    Cheers,
    Drew

  2. #2
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,793
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 798 Times in 719 Posts
    Doesn't work for Wordpad or Windows Explorer in Windows 8 RP. To get rid of the ribbon there, you have to right click on an empty area of the top window bar and select minimize ribbon. Not exactly intuitive but gets the job done

    Jerry

  3. #3
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    Works fine on my PC. Up/Down carrot either hides the ribbon or display the ribbon in File Explorer (Windows Explorer renamed):

    Ribbon exposed.png

    ribbon hidden.jpg

    To use the View Tab to accomplish this I have to Double Click the View Tab. When the Ribbon is hidden, a Single Click opens the ribbon but hides the Quick Launch bar. A Double Click will fully open or close the ribbon.
    Last edited by Medico; 2012-07-31 at 13:46.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  4. #4
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,793
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 798 Times in 719 Posts
    Yes, that works as well. Never noticed the carat until you mentioned it. Has nothing to do with the view tab Drew was talking about though.

    Jerry

  5. #5
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    I modified my post to include the View Tab
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  6. #6
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,793
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 798 Times in 719 Posts
    Still not the procedure Drew laid out but close. Thanks for the tip on using the carat though. That seems to be the simplest method.

    Jerry

  7. #7
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    I believe so as well.

    By the way, the Single Click hiding the Quick Launch Bar only happens if the Quick Launch bar is below the ribbon (I prefer it there than above). A Single Click on the View Tab hides the address bar as well as the Quick Launch Bar.
    Last edited by Medico; 2012-07-31 at 14:00.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  8. #8
    Banned Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Calgary
    Posts
    2,522
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 170 Times in 142 Posts
    I tried this, specifically, in both Windows Explorer & Wordpad. Works, as I described, in both. Click Home, View, Share or even File, you get their 'stuff' and click the same tab again & its 'stuff' is gone, again.

    Dunno, what to say but, it works, thusly, for me AND that's in Win8 RP, too.

    Drew
    new_windows_logo1.jpg

  9. #9
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    I do not see this action unless I Double Click. For example when I go to View Tab, A second Single Click does nothing, but a Double Click hides the Ribbon. I use a laptop with specialized Touchpad S/W. Perhaps this is affecting the actions. Works the same whether I use the Touchpad or Mouse.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  10. #10
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,793
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 798 Times in 719 Posts
    On mine, a single click brings up the ribbon options for just the menu item clicked but has no lasting effect. Double click has a lasting effect of hiding/showing the ribbon as Ted has mentioned.

    Jerry

  11. #11
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    4,746
    Thanks
    171
    Thanked 649 Times in 572 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Ted Myers View Post
    By the way, the Single Click hiding the Quick Launch Bar only happens if the Quick Launch bar is below the ribbon (I prefer it there than above). A Single Click on the View Tab hides the address bar as well as the Quick Launch Bar.
    That's really the Quick Access Toolbar. A Quick Launch Toolbar is something different in another place which launches applications.

    Bruce

  12. #12
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    Sorry, incorrect terminology
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •