Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger Jimmy-W's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Helena, Montana, USA
    Posts
    220
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default file name of Access 2010 database

    When I create a new database, the default file name is Database1. Is there a way to change the default name? Thanks.
    JimmyW
    Helena, MT

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    12,519
    Thanks
    152
    Thanked 1,398 Times in 1,221 Posts
    You can just click the text box where the name is shown and change it.

  3. #3
    3 Star Lounger Jimmy-W's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Helena, Montana, USA
    Posts
    220
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks, I know that. As I use the same name frequently, I'd prefer to make that name the default, if there's a way.
    JimmyW
    Helena, MT

  4. #4
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    12,519
    Thanks
    152
    Thanked 1,398 Times in 1,221 Posts
    I don't know of a way to do that.

  5. #5
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Evergreen, CO, USA
    Posts
    6,624
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 60 Times in 60 Posts
    You can create a new empty database using VBA, and specify the name that way, but that seems to be overkill as you first have to open and existing database and then invoke the code to create the new database. It is a bit unusual to create new databases frequently. Can you explain what causes you to need to do that?
    Wendell

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •