Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 78
  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    101
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    XP machine does continuous chkdsk and then locks up

    Hey Guys,
    Got up and found my icons on the desktop are all blank, just a white box, so I just
    rebooted after trying to refresh the desktop several times.

    It started normally, then went into a chkdsk mode... ok fine! BUT!
    when it got thru checking the 'G' drive I got 12 'periods' and then nothing! I let
    it sit there for at least 15 minutes. (As I write this it's been over an hour.)

    Keyboard was useless... had to use the power button (completely power-off).

    When it came back up it went right back into chkdsk again... this time I
    stop it at each drive until 'G' and let it run... again once it finished 'G' I got
    the 12 periods and it stopped.

    Then tried "Last know Config" and got the chkdsk again.

    The next time I picked "SafeMode" .... loaded drivers until it got to:
    AVGIDSEH.sys and stopped cold.

    Running: XP Pro sp2
    (All drives are NTFS)
    Drive list: C to P and then R (Q,X,Y are network drives)
    I think "M and P" are the DVD/CD's
    Drives "C and R" are on one hard drive the rest are on a 750GB hard drive.

    Grandpa Bill

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    12,519
    Thanks
    152
    Thanked 1,398 Times in 1,221 Posts
    Is G an internal drive?

  3. #3
    Super Moderator satrow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Cardiff, UK
    Posts
    4,486
    Thanks
    284
    Thanked 574 Times in 478 Posts
    If I've read the OP correctly, G + 8 others, D --> L, are all on an internal 750GB drive.

  4. #4
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    101
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ruirib View Post
    Is G an internal drive?
    ALL drives are internal except for my network drives
    which is in it's own box downstairs next to the rotor
    and the hub.

  5. #5
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    12,519
    Thanks
    152
    Thanked 1,398 Times in 1,221 Posts
    It seems to me you have a disk problem. Check this thread for suggestions on tools to use to maybe fix it: http://windowssecrets.com/forums/sho...ighlight=drive
    Last edited by ruirib; 2012-08-01 at 18:52.

  6. #6
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    101
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ruirib View Post
    It seems to me you have a disk problem. Check this thread for suggestions on tools to use to maybe fix it: http://windowssecrets.com/forums/sho...ighlight=drive
    Why didn't you say "SpinRite"?!?!?!?

    I pulled it off the shelf and it's been running since your post.

    So far it found two sectors on drive 1 item 3 and one on item 5 and just started item #6 --
    don't know about item 4 as I was sleeping then. (WOW 6 is going fast up to 60% already)

    This is a level #2 run... after that's done I'll go back and run them all thru the level #4.

    I don't remember what the level #5 is suppose to do... nor do I remember seeing it in the
    menu, so I don't think I ever used that. (Just 2 and 4)

    Grandpa Bill

  7. #7
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    12,519
    Thanks
    152
    Thanked 1,398 Times in 1,221 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Inventor3006 View Post
    Why didn't you say "SpinRite"?!?!?!?

    I pulled it off the shelf and it's been running since your post.

    So far it found two sectors on drive 1 item 3 and one on item 5 and just started item #6 --
    don't know about item 4 as I was sleeping then. (WOW 6 is going fast up to 60% already)

    This is a level #2 run... after that's done I'll go back and run them all thru the level #4.

    I don't remember what the level #5 is suppose to do... nor do I remember seeing it in the
    menu, so I don't think I ever used that. (Just 2 and 4)

    Grandpa Bill
    Well I didn't know you had it . The thread also names another tool that can be used with Seagate drives.

    Think this provides good info on Spinrite levels: http://www.mstuttle.com/2010/11/03/spinrite-levels/

    H
    ope it helps.

    Regards

    Rui

  8. #8
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    101
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    YUP! That explains a lot, but looking at the screenshot of the menu, it only
    shows options 2 and 4... where do you find options 1/ 3/ 5?
    I got to be missing it some where. (It's hell getting old.)

    Grandpa Bill

  9. #9
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    12,519
    Thanks
    152
    Thanked 1,398 Times in 1,221 Posts
    Maybe this can help: http://www.linuxjournal.com/article/7684

    I
    t will give you access to a lot of screens and what you can achieve from each of them.

    Are you running Spinrite 6.0?

  10. The Following User Says Thank You to ruirib For This Useful Post:

    Inventor3006 (2012-08-02)

  11. #10
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    101
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    You know what "REALLY" ticks me off.... I've been building/repairing computers since Win95-D/98 and I've used
    SpinRite on dozens of customers machines, BUT! When it happens to me PANIC sets in and I go brain dead.
    Old age doesn't help me either... "MY" internal hard drive is slowing down as well.

    SpinRite is on drive #1 item #7 and has found another sector, so it's holding there for about an hour or more.
    (Dam I hope this works, I don't want to reinstall over 325 programs. Then have to do a billzillion updates and
    patches.)

    Grandpa Bill

  12. #11
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    12,519
    Thanks
    152
    Thanked 1,398 Times in 1,221 Posts
    I guess we have all been there, at some point. In the end, control is always regained, but moments of slight panic, guess they are bound to happen .

  13. #12
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    101
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Hang in there Guys... it finally finished #7 with only two bad sectors and now has found another
    one on #8 but it's holding on the next one to it so I might have two side-by-side.

    This is one of the down falls of these big drives; it takes "DAYS" not hours to run thru them.
    A simple 40 GB will be done with levels 2 and 4 in about 8 to 10 hours.

    Grandpa Bill

  14. #13
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    101
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    What's plan "B"???

    Well Guys,
    This started about the 27th/28th of last month, then I went into the SpinRite mode and ran level 2 and 4.

    It finished level 4 about 3:30 am with 'NO' error or bad sectors shown.

    It showed that there are 12 partitioned drives on there.

    Pulled the CD and rebooted and after a couple of the normal boot-up screens it went right into chkdsk.
    I let it run..... (The list is the order it scanned)
    Skipped "C"
    D: = zero bad sectors
    E: = 4 bad sectors (Which SpinRite showed as fixed)
    F: = zero bad sectors
    J: = zero bad sectors
    G: = zero bad sectors
    "THEN"!!!! 11 periods and it's been sitting there for well over an hour!

    Keyboard and mouse are dead in chkdsk mode, of course, so the only
    thing I can do at this point is hit the power button.

    All these drives are on the 750gb internal drive.

    Now what? Run SpinRite at level 5 ???? or something else?

    Grandpa Bill

  15. #14
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    12,519
    Thanks
    152
    Thanked 1,398 Times in 1,221 Posts
    Yes, I think you should run SpinRite level 5.

  16. #15
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    101
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Although I didn't need to do the "C/R" drives, (160gb) I selected them all ... if I'm going to
    do it I'm doing them all.
    Looks like the "C" drive will take about 3-1/2+ hours.
    If that's an average time frame... times that by 14 drives.

    Looks like I'll be back in 3 days.

    Grandpa Bill

Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •