Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Setting up non standard account in Win7

    Does anyone know how to set up a non standard account on my PC (Win7 Home Premium 64-bit Service Pack1) in such a way that it will preserve the settings of the adm account? I want the security of surfing as a non-admin but when I try to set up such an account, it's like going back to square one. Looks like I have to re-download Firefox, set Google as default search engine, re-download Media Monkey, Picasa3, import bookmarks...

    There must be an easier way. Thanks for any help.

    Dee

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    12,519
    Thanks
    152
    Thanked 1,398 Times in 1,221 Posts
    Hi,

    Welcome to the Lounge.

    I am not sure if that happens because it is not an administrator account, or because you have setup all those apps for the admin account only. There is a quick way to test it, though. Create an administrator account and see if the apps are there. Then, through control panel, change it to a non administrator account.

  3. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Unhappy Thank you ruirib, but no joy

    If I set up all those apps for the adm account only, it was unintentional.

    Did as you suggested. Created a new admin account and it's the same problem: restart computer using new adm account and I get the basic blue Windows screen with 2 desktop icons -- trash can and my games. Task bar contains icons for "e" and folders.... and something else. Not my screensaver and taskbar full of apps.

    Bummer. Gonna be a long road to set up a non-standard account and re-load those apps. And does that mean they'll all be on my computer twice? Or do I just have to "find" them and add them to non standard account?

    I may just give up. Shouldn't be this difficult.

  4. #4
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    12,519
    Thanks
    152
    Thanked 1,398 Times in 1,221 Posts
    See if you can use this to overcome the situation. May work, but I can't guarantee it:

    http://windows.microsoft.com/en-US/windows-vista/fix-a-corrupted-user-profile

    T
    he idea is to copy the existing profile into the new one.

  5. #5
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Profile. Ah. I've been avoiding "Profile" for 10 years. Might be time to look into it. Thank you again, ruirib.

  6. #6
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Info on link you provided seems pretty straightforward, except I'm assuming I don't delete the old profile when done.

    Will give it a try... after my nap.

  7. #7
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    12,519
    Thanks
    152
    Thanked 1,398 Times in 1,221 Posts
    Yes, better not delete the existing one .

  8. #8
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    4,748
    Thanks
    171
    Thanked 649 Times in 572 Posts
    The use of "non-standard" in the title and text of this thread is confusing. It's a Standard, non-Administrator account which is being discussed.

    The latest Windows Secret newsletter included a link to Configuring Windows 7 for a Limited ("Standard") User Account:

    Method 2: Convert an already-installed admin user

    This method is used if Windows 7 has been already set up, where the installer user (here: Steve) was automatically created with administrative rights.

    Though one could technically rename the account to SteveAdmin and make a new Steve as a limited user, this would play havoc with the user profiles, the desktop, and other personal configurations.

    It's possible to copy profiles around, but it's easier to just create a new admin account and demote this one
    .

    These are the steps: (at the link)

    Bruce

  9. #9
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    That's the article I read some days ago in Windows Secrets and subsequently lost track of. If the result of a standard account is losing all of one's settings in the new account, however, it isn't for me. Thank you for the link, Bruce, and my apologies for making a mistake.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •