Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Taunton, Somerset, England
    Posts
    27
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    WiFi dropping out

    W7 Home Premium SP1, 64bit, Outlook 2003 SP3, IE9.

    On boot-up my WiFi connects fine, and remains connected as long as I am working on the Internet.

    Once I leave the PC for any length of time, (less than an hour), or work for a while on a document with no need to access the web, my WiFi connection drops out.
    The BTInternet application then wants to fix the connection and takes me through a long involved process where I have to identify my router, which connection I want to use, and often I need to enter the wireless key and sometimes the admin password.
    If, however, I simply restart Windows, the connection is just made for me.
    It's not really mission critical, only taking a couple of minutes to restart, but I just think it shouldn't be this way.

    Is there a setting somewhere I should select/deselect?

    Thanks for any suggestions.

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    You might want to see if there is a firmware update for your router. On my Linksys router, when I sign onto the router S/W there is a Firmware Upgrade page under Administration.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  3. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Halifax, Canada
    Posts
    19
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    It could be a power management issue.

    In 'device manager', check your adapter power management TAB. Is 'turn off this device to save power' checked?

  4. The Following User Says Thank You to vopthis For This Useful Post:

    Jim White (2012-10-07)

  5. #4
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    12,519
    Thanks
    152
    Thanked 1,398 Times in 1,221 Posts
    Check the wireless connection properties in your wireless adapter and make sure it is not set to be turned off the by computer to save power.
    Last edited by ruirib; 2012-08-06 at 08:21. Reason: Beat to it :)

  6. The Following User Says Thank You to ruirib For This Useful Post:

    Jim White (2012-10-07)

  7. #5
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Taunton, Somerset, England
    Posts
    27
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks for the answers, folks...

    I found that the adapter WAS set to be turned off by the pc to save power, so changed that, will now leave it alone for a whil;e and see how I get on.

    If you don't hear from me again, it worked!

    Thanks again all.

  8. #6
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    Glad you solved your problem.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  9. #7
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    12,519
    Thanks
    152
    Thanked 1,398 Times in 1,221 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Jim White View Post
    Thanks for the answers, folks...

    I found that the adapter WAS set to be turned off by the pc to save power, so changed that, will now leave it alone for a whil;e and see how I get on.

    If you don't hear from me again, it worked!

    Thanks again all.
    Hope that works .

  10. #8
    Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    1,168
    Thanks
    44
    Thanked 134 Times in 115 Posts
    Jim,

    I would also recommend removing the BT Internet connection software management tool unless you use it for a specific purpose.

    I see this tool regularly and it does very little except to insert an additional layer between the networking components of the operating system and the router.

    Despite what BT tell you in the marketing info, it is not required for "a better experience".

    BT might suggest that they will not support you without the tool being installed, but that it has never been my experience.
    In God we trust; all others must bring data.

    - William Edwards Deming. 1900 - 1993

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •