Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Garland,TX
    Posts
    91
    Thanks
    41
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

    Enter Network Password / Outlook 2003

    I recently added my Gmail account to Outlook 2003.
    Prior to this i only had my ATT email on outlook.
    Now i am constantly getting a box popping up asking me to enter my network password for my ATT account.
    The user name and password is correct. i checked the box to save it to my password list but still pops up.
    Any idea what i did when i added the Gmail account that would cause this?
    Barry

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    12,519
    Thanks
    152
    Thanked 1,398 Times in 1,221 Posts
    For how long as this been occurring? If you just click ok, does Outlook connect to your account?

    That is very weird, adding an account should not cause that and I have never seen it happening constantly. Sometimes, usually when there is some server issue, which can occur a few times, the pop up shows up. Checking the save password option should stop it showing up again, unless the server still has problems.

  3. #3
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Garland,TX
    Posts
    91
    Thanks
    41
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Its been happening a couple of weeks. IT seems to be increasing in frequency.
    Barry

  4. #4
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    12,519
    Thanks
    152
    Thanked 1,398 Times in 1,221 Posts
    So it is definitely a server issue, IMO. It goes away and comes back, right?

  5. #5
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Garland,TX
    Posts
    91
    Thanks
    41
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Yes that is pretty much correct.
    This is a old ATT email from when they were associated with Yahoo.
    I canceled the account about a year ago but they allowed me to keep the email address.
    the server info was POP.ATT.YAHOO.NET. I went to the ATT support page and they showed it had changed to INBOUND.ATT.NET.
    I changed both the inbound and outbound addresses and the email still works but i still get the pop up.
    I even deleted the Gmail acount but that didnt help.
    Barry

  6. #6
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    12,519
    Thanks
    152
    Thanked 1,398 Times in 1,221 Posts
    It still seems pretty much an yahoo server being used. Yahoo has been quite flakey, lately. I doubt that there is anything that you can do, as this is entirely server side. It wasn't the gmail account addition that created your problem.

  7. #7
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Garland,TX
    Posts
    91
    Thanks
    41
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Thanks Ruirib
    i guess for now i will just grin and bear it and hope it goes away.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •