Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
    Posts
    396
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    File locked for editing by Me

    In Word 2010 recently there seems to have been a change in the "File In Use" dialog message. We believe that it used to pull the name of the person, who locked the file, from the Word Options General information. We are having issues with some of our documents created from templates (which we designed). The "File In Use" dialog gives the message that the file is locked for editing my 'Barbara' (me). I have never been in the file, but I did create the template and I am listed in the Info as one of the Authors. I am not the one who Last Modified the file.

    Has anyone else noticed this issue? Did something change in Office about the locking of files?

    Thanks for any help.

  2. #2
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,433
    Thanks
    371
    Thanked 1,456 Times in 1,325 Posts
    bjg1,

    You might give this MS article a read and see if it helps.
    You should also check that there isn't a temp file on either the user's disk or the server for this template that didn't get erased.
    Another thing is there have been reported instances of this problem when using the 64 Bit version of Word where attempting to open the file with the 32 Bit version clears up the problem.
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  3. #3
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
    Posts
    396
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    You might be on to something with the 64 Bit verses 32 Bit versions of Office. I will check with out IT grroup to see if this could be the issue.

    Thanks.

  4. #4
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
    Posts
    396
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I checked with our IT department. We do not have anyone using the 64 Bit version of Office. We do have about half of our employees using 64 Bit computers, but everyone uses the 32 Bit version of Office.

    I checked with the user with the issue. She and others have the issue with Word or Excel.

  5. #5
    WS Lounge VIP mrjimphelps's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    3,396
    Thanks
    445
    Thanked 404 Times in 376 Posts
    Make a copy of the locked file. Then rename the original to something else, then rename the copy to the original name.

    Now you're working with a copy of the original, which hopefully won't be locked.

  6. #6
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
    Posts
    396
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Our network administrator checked the file status using Hyenna. The file was open, but Microsoft is reporting the wrong name. Does anyone know where Microsoft picks up the name from?

  7. #7
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Maryland, USA
    Posts
    690
    Thanks
    17
    Thanked 66 Times in 56 Posts
    What name is reported? Word gets the name of the open file and of the user from the owner file. See here for information.

    HTH

  8. #8
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
    Posts
    396
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I think that the information on the owner file explains what is happening. We just need to look for the tilde file before trying to open the original file.

    Thank you, Pam.

  9. #9
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
    Posts
    396
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Our users are telling us that there is no tilde file in the network folder where the file is saved. In Word 2010 is the default autosave file saved someplace else?

  10. #10
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Maryland, USA
    Posts
    690
    Thanks
    17
    Thanked 66 Times in 56 Posts
    To see them, Windows Explorer must be set to "show hidden files, folders, and drives". You mentioned that you are identified as the user, so also check the folder where the template resides.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •