Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Silver Lounger Banyarola's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Big Indian, New York
    Posts
    1,900
    Thanks
    19
    Thanked 65 Times in 54 Posts

    UAC & WinPatrol Plus

    User Account Control has always driven me nuts so when I installed WinPatrol Plus I turned off UAC..

    I emailed WinPatrol Plus and they recommended I leave UAC on in spite of the risk of losing my sanity.

    Now I have it UAC turned off again..

    Any of you guys using WinPatrol Plus and what have you done with UAC..Have you turned it off or left it on??

    Thanks Guys..
    "If You Are Reading This In English, Thank A VET"

  2. #2
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,436
    Thanks
    372
    Thanked 1,457 Times in 1,326 Posts
    Bany,

    I'm using it and UAC remains ON it doesn't seem to give me much of a hassle.
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  3. #3
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,797
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 799 Times in 720 Posts
    Same here. Don't see much interference with UAC either.

    Jerry

  4. #4
    Silver Lounger Banyarola's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Big Indian, New York
    Posts
    1,900
    Thanks
    19
    Thanked 65 Times in 54 Posts
    Thanks guys..

    It doesn't give me any problems either with Win-patrol Plus running either.

    I just don't like the annoyance of UAC popping up when I run certain programs because I forget to run them as Administrator.
    "If You Are Reading This In English, Thank A VET"

  5. #5
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,436
    Thanks
    372
    Thanked 1,457 Times in 1,326 Posts
    Bany,

    You can get around some of that by setting up Scheduled Tasks for those programs. You don't actually set up a schedule but set them to run on demand and at Highest Privledge then you create a shortcut to the Scheduled Task to actually run the program. I do this for CCleaner, SIW, Revo, etc.
    SchTaskGeneral.JPG
    SchTaskActions.JPG
    Then the shortcut is like this: C:\Windows\System32\schtasks.exe /run /TN "Launch CCleaner"
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  6. #6
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Something that some people forget is that by setting a program as "Run As Administrator" you're going to cause Windows to put up the UAC. It may seem to work backwards but if you think about it, you're telling Windows you want the program to run with elevated privledges. So when it runs, Windows is going to think the program does something special and it will trigger the UAC alert.

    We've had people write because they say WinPatrol.exe makes the UAC come up everytime they reboot. WinPatrol.exe is designed specifically so it doesn't cause the UAC to pop up everytime you start. It reads critical locations but doesn't need special permissions. If however you set its properties to "Run As Admin.." it will force the UAC because Windows thinks it need access.

    When you click on our icon and open up the tabbed interface, that component does access system locations that require special privledges so it will trigger the UAC. This component is WinPatrolEx.exe.


    So, setting Run As Admin will not help reduce the UAC.

    Thanks to everyone for their support.
    Bill

  7. The Following User Says Thank You to BillPStudios For This Useful Post:

    Duchess843 (2012-08-15)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •