Results 1 to 15 of 15
  1. #1
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Tarpon Springs, FL
    Posts
    64
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Secunia PSI acting up again

    After refusing to load properly for about a week, Secunia PSI now has another problem: I have several programs that PSI brings to my attention that are out of date (end of life) but I still want to use them, so I right-click on the program icons and click on "Ignore updates to this program". This does no good. PSI keeps putting them back immediately and won't ignore them. So I can never get a 100% score! What's going on here, Seconia. A really good program is going down hill fast.

    John

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,625
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 932 Times in 853 Posts
    I moved this thread to the appropriate Forum.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  3. #3
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    10,400
    Thanks
    131
    Thanked 1,167 Times in 1,071 Posts
    Are you running the latest version of the program?

  4. #4
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Tarpon Springs, FL
    Posts
    64
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    I am running version 3.0.0.2003. Is there a later version?

    John

  5. #5
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Veracruz, Mexico
    Posts
    14
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Same problem with secunia 3
    Uninstalled v3 and reinstalled v2 but the problem also occurs with v2

    Seems that secunia is aware of this problem and is working on it
    http://secunia.com/community/forum/t..._does_not_work

  6. #6
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    South Africa
    Posts
    243
    Thanks
    47
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Keeps telling me to run a scan, you might have outdated software. This same message after every scan.
    The tray icon displayed in red and indicates all programs are up to date.
    Version 3.0

  7. #7
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    10,400
    Thanks
    131
    Thanked 1,167 Times in 1,071 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by DaveBRenn View Post
    Keeps telling me to run a scan, you might have outdated software. This same message after every scan.
    The tray icon displayed in red and indicates all programs are up to date.
    Version 3.0
    I think you are more likely to get timely and knowledgeable help about it at Secunia's own support forum.

  8. The Following User Says Thank You to ruirib For This Useful Post:

    DaveBRenn (2012-08-15)

  9. #8
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    South Africa
    Posts
    243
    Thanks
    47
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    All up and running again.
    Thanks

  10. #9
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    10,400
    Thanks
    131
    Thanked 1,167 Times in 1,071 Posts
    Glad you got it sorted .

  11. #10
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Tarpon Springs, FL
    Posts
    64
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Secunia appears to have fixed it. Back to 100%. Thanks to all.

    John

  12. The Following User Says Thank You to jarome For This Useful Post:

    hugoga (2012-08-15)

  13. #11
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    10,400
    Thanks
    131
    Thanked 1,167 Times in 1,071 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by jarome View Post
    Secunia appears to have fixed it. Back to 100%. Thanks to all.

    John
    That's good news, too .

  14. #12
    Lounge VIP bobprimak's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Hinsdale, IL, USA
    Posts
    2,329
    Thanks
    140
    Thanked 117 Times in 100 Posts
    Bad program updates can happen with any software. I suspect Secunia had a bad program update some short time ago.
    -- Bob Primak --

  15. #13
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    169
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
    I have found Secunia to produce very annoying results. The results are never consistant, always the same programs need updating, even just after updating them (yes, I rescan each time I use the program).

    It is down to where I use Secunia only on demand, like once a month, and ignore its end-of-life warnings. These always seem to come with vendor installed crap-ware, or with programs that I am just fine with using as they are. In fact, once a computer is a year old, Secunia has little value.

    I think Secunia runs are more valuable to software vendors as the scans tend to generate more business. This is akin to that junk mail for some unwanted product (what part of NO don't they understand?)

  16. #14
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    52
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
    I almost consider Secunia nagware. I have given up on the product and uninstalled the program.

  17. #15
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    2,913
    Thanks
    91
    Thanked 356 Times in 320 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Ken Kashmarek View Post
    In fact, once a computer is a year old, Secunia has little value.
    I can't follow that logic. My PC is three years old, but most of my software is much more recent. And if it wasn't, Secunia would warn me when older programs may become risky.


    Quote Originally Posted by WFS View Post
    I almost consider Secunia nagware. I have given up on the product and uninstalled the program.
    Its whole purpose is to nag you to deal with insecure programs, but there's no paid version of PSI for them to persuade you to buy.


    Bruce

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •