Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 16
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger Jagworld's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    397
    Thanks
    67
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

    Maybe why Boot disk didn't work well !!

    I've been having an issue with Acronis boot disk ---- but nothing else!!

    All of a sudden this morning;

    MS essentials detected this and while doing a full scan, makes me wonder why sooooo late --- I run it every day along with Malwarebytes and CCleaner.

    I'm careful where I go and what I download for the last 10 years and all has been fine and "Well" it's a weird happening.

    I pay all my bills and bank on-line though this XP os and have for years without a problem.

    I don't feel my XP is safe any more, any suggestions ??
    Attached Images Attached Images

  2. Get our unique weekly Newsletter with tips and techniques, how to's and critical updates on Windows 7, Windows 8, Windows XP, Firefox, Internet Explorer, Google, etc. Join our 480,000 subscribers!

    Excel 2013: The Missing Manual

    + Get this BONUS — free!

    Get the most of Excel! Learn about new features, basics of creating a new spreadsheet and using the infamous Ribbon in the first chapter of Excel 2013: The Missing Manual - Subscribe and download Chapter 1 for free!

  3. #2
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Johnson City, Tennessee, USA
    Posts
    3,203
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 212 Times in 199 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Jagworld View Post
    I don't feel my XP is safe any more, any suggestions ??
    Jag,
    Hello... NIS 2012...Regards Fred
    PlainFred

    None are so hopelessly enslaved as those who falsely believe they are free (J. W. Von Goethe)

  4. #3
    Super Moderator CLiNT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    California & Arizona
    Posts
    5,446
    Thanks
    128
    Thanked 495 Times in 455 Posts
    I don't feel my XP is safe any more, any suggestions ??
    MSE did it's job, no reason to switch AV/AM software arbitrarily.

    The best and most 100% way to feel safe about your OS would be a total format and clean install. (minus the Java software of course)
    But simply getting confirmation with a couple of other tools to ensure there is nothing else on the system would be prudent.

    Having Java and programs that specifically use Java is becoming an increasingly bad software choice, especially on an old OS like XP.
    Last edited by CLiNT; 2012-08-14 at 22:13.

  5. #4
    Super Moderator BATcher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    A cultural area in SW England
    Posts
    2,829
    Thanks
    19
    Thanked 109 Times in 103 Posts
    Run Malwarebytes' Antimalware, SuperAntiSpyware, and Hitman Pro.
    If all those run clean, you are likely to be as OK as XP can be...
    BATcher

    Dear Diary, today the Hundred Years War started ...

  6. #5
    3 Star Lounger Jagworld's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    397
    Thanks
    67
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    @CLiNT;
    When Sun Java wants to run/update all the time, should I even have it ?

    Please explain the nittie-critty on Java "if you will, i'd appreciate it" !!!


    Quote Originally Posted by CLiNT View Post
    MSE did it's job, no reason to switch AV/AM software arbitrarily.

    The best and most 100% way to feel safe about your OS would be a total format and clean install. (minus the Java software of course)
    But simply getting confirmation with a couple of other tools to ensure there is nothing else on the system would be prudent.

    Having Java and programs that specifically use Java is becoming an increasingly bad software choice, especially on an old OS like XP.

  7. #6
    Super Moderator CLiNT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    California & Arizona
    Posts
    5,446
    Thanks
    128
    Thanked 495 Times in 455 Posts
    Please explain the nittie-critty on Java "if you will, i'd appreciate it" !!!
    Simple: It's insecure.
    I've dumped it the last few years of using Windows XP. It's just too much of a liability.
    No program imo is worth having to install it.

  8. #7
    3 Star Lounger Jagworld's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    397
    Thanks
    67
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Good to know, I'll remove it. Whats your opinion about the JavaScript install ?

    Quote Originally Posted by CLiNT View Post
    Simple: It's insecure.
    I've dumped it the last few years of using Windows XP. It's just too much of a liability.
    No program imo is worth having to install it.

  9. #8
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    6,193
    Thanks
    201
    Thanked 784 Times in 718 Posts
    Clint,

    Ok, I'm taking the challenge. I've uninstalled Java and see if I can live w/o it!
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    VBA Rules!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs


  10. #9
    Super Moderator CLiNT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    California & Arizona
    Posts
    5,446
    Thanks
    128
    Thanked 495 Times in 455 Posts
    Now you guys got me curious.
    What programs do you use that require Java to run in the first place?

    It's been a few years and last I recall there was a really decent BT client that used it that I had to dump.

  11. #10
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    10,287
    Thanks
    130
    Thanked 1,154 Times in 1,063 Posts
    Well here, the government website where you file your tax returns requires Java. That's why I still have it installed.

  12. #11
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,625
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 931 Times in 852 Posts
    I dumped Java a couple of months ago and have not run into a situation where I needed it.

    JavaScript is not the same as Java. JavaScript is a programming language used by many modern day browsers. An excerpt for the linked page: "Nowadays almost all web pages contain JavaScript, a scripting programming language that runs on visitor's web browser. It makes web pages functional for specific purposes and if disabled for some reason, the content or the functionality of the web page can be limited or unavailable."
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  13. #12
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    10,287
    Thanks
    130
    Thanked 1,154 Times in 1,063 Posts
    Most websites won't require Java, but a few will. A bigger number will require Javascript, though and lately Javascript is becoming more and more important in modern web programming, since browsers are getting better at it and JQuery brought a small revolution in the usage of Javascript for web developers.

  14. #13
    3 Star Lounger Jagworld's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    397
    Thanks
    67
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    @CLiNT;
    ""But simply getting confirmation with a couple of other tools to ensure there is nothing else on the system would be prudent.""

    What couple of tolls are you talking about?

    Thanks

  15. #14
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    6,193
    Thanks
    201
    Thanked 784 Times in 718 Posts
    Sorry CLiNT I FAILED the challenge and it didn't even take 2 hours!.
    First, Arachnophopia wouldn't work...well I'm not doing much web work right now so I have time to look for a replacement. But I do like it!
    Secondly, and the last straw when I fired up my Kies Air application on my Galaxy S II to transfer pictures it would only transfer 1 at a time w/o Java installed. I had about 50 pictures to transfer so Java got reinstalled pretty quickly.
    Don't know what else I run that needs it but since I haven't had any infections while running it I guess it stays on the machine to avoid the pain of not having it.
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    VBA Rules!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs


  16. #15
    Super Moderator CLiNT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    California & Arizona
    Posts
    5,446
    Thanks
    128
    Thanked 495 Times in 455 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Jagworld View Post
    @CLiNT;
    ""But simply getting confirmation with a couple of other tools to ensure there is nothing else on the system would be prudent.""

    What couple of tolls are you talking about?

    Thanks
    The ones BATcher made mention of.
    Last edited by CLiNT; 2012-08-15 at 15:36.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •