Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Montgomery, AL
    Posts
    132
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    One site opens for less than a second then error -

    Hi folks,
    Using IE8, 64bit.
    With some Win Updates, I missed the fact that they installed IE9 - Well, I removed IE9 in WinUpdates. All seemed fine with the exception of one forum
    I visit daily. When I click on the site, it opens for a split second, then screen goes blank and I get an error at bottom.

    I have reset, cleaned temp/history/etc. to no avail. I d/l'd Firefox and it opens fine.
    Any help would be highly appreciated.
    Have a blessed one, Tom

    ScreenShot001.jpg

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    12,519
    Thanks
    152
    Thanked 1,398 Times in 1,221 Posts
    It's not your problem alone. The URL does not open for me, either, and it shows the same error message.
    I tried IE in Quirks mode, IE 7 mode, IE 8 mode and IE 9 mode. The error happens in all circumstances. The forum seems to open in Chrome without issues, though.

    It's clear to me that whoever coded the page, coded it in a way that is causing the error. It's not even an isolated situation, as you can see here, for example.

    If you can, I suggest that you contact the forum administrator about it. Obviously whoever coded the page is responsible for the failure of the code to run in IE.

  3. #3
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Montgomery, AL
    Posts
    132
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Thanks so much ruirib,
    Good to know it's not an isolated error.
    Have a blessed one.
    Tom

  4. #4
    Super Moderator CLiNT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    California & Arizona
    Posts
    6,121
    Thanks
    160
    Thanked 609 Times in 557 Posts
    Same here, flashes for a very brief time, same with 32 or 64 bit IE.
    http://www.x-simulator.de

  5. #5
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Montgomery, AL
    Posts
    132
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Hi folks,
    I put in a thread (using Firefox) about the problem and they now have it fixed. The administrators had put a new search feature in using Google and it messed thinks up.
    It is working now with IE.
    Thanks so much,
    Tom

  6. #6
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    12,519
    Thanks
    152
    Thanked 1,398 Times in 1,221 Posts
    Great .

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •