Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Qawra, St. Paul's Bay, Malta
    Posts
    1,616
    Thanks
    219
    Thanked 16 Times in 15 Posts

    Google Toolbar Problem

    I downloaded the latest version of the Google Toolbar for IE (I have IE 9) and installed it after using Revo Uninstaller to uninstall the previous version. The toolbar is listed when I open Tools/Manage addons, but it no longer shows up on web pages, i.e. the Google Search box is missing. If anyone can tell me how to sort this out I would be grateful.

    Thanks and regards, Roy
    OS Dual Boot Windows 10 Pro 64 Bit & Windows 7 Pro With SP1 64 bit. (Intel Core i7 7700 Kaby Lake Processor -Asus B150 Pro (LGA1151) Motherboard-GTX550 Ti DirectCU Graphics Card-Memory 16 GB DDR4)

    Roy Whitethread

  2. #2
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    12,632
    Thanks
    152
    Thanked 1,421 Times in 1,232 Posts
    Do you have it checked in View->Toolbars->Google Toolbar?

  3. #3
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Qawra, St. Paul's Bay, Malta
    Posts
    1,616
    Thanks
    219
    Thanked 16 Times in 15 Posts
    ruirib, thanks but it's not shown in View->Toolbars. Do you have any other ideas?
    OS Dual Boot Windows 10 Pro 64 Bit & Windows 7 Pro With SP1 64 bit. (Intel Core i7 7700 Kaby Lake Processor -Asus B150 Pro (LGA1151) Motherboard-GTX550 Ti DirectCU Graphics Card-Memory 16 GB DDR4)

    Roy Whitethread

  4. #4
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    12,632
    Thanks
    152
    Thanked 1,421 Times in 1,232 Posts
    Does it show as enabled in the addons list?

  5. #5
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Qawra, St. Paul's Bay, Malta
    Posts
    1,616
    Thanks
    219
    Thanked 16 Times in 15 Posts
    Yes.
    OS Dual Boot Windows 10 Pro 64 Bit & Windows 7 Pro With SP1 64 bit. (Intel Core i7 7700 Kaby Lake Processor -Asus B150 Pro (LGA1151) Motherboard-GTX550 Ti DirectCU Graphics Card-Memory 16 GB DDR4)

    Roy Whitethread

  6. #6
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    12,632
    Thanks
    152
    Thanked 1,421 Times in 1,232 Posts
    I suggest you download it and install it again. No need to uninstall it before. I never, ever removed my previous toolbar versions.

  7. #7
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Qawra, St. Paul's Bay, Malta
    Posts
    1,616
    Thanks
    219
    Thanked 16 Times in 15 Posts
    ruirib, thanks but I tried that and it made no difference. However, I am pleased to say that after running sfc /scannow and rebooting, as soon as I opened IE the enable Google Toolbar notification message appeared at the bottom of the window and the Toolbar now works.

    Best regards, Roy
    OS Dual Boot Windows 10 Pro 64 Bit & Windows 7 Pro With SP1 64 bit. (Intel Core i7 7700 Kaby Lake Processor -Asus B150 Pro (LGA1151) Motherboard-GTX550 Ti DirectCU Graphics Card-Memory 16 GB DDR4)

    Roy Whitethread

  8. #8
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    12,632
    Thanks
    152
    Thanked 1,421 Times in 1,232 Posts
    Glad you solved it.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •