Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Central, Michigan
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Windows 7 freezes when browsing

    I am using Firefox and SRWare Iron(Stripped down Chrome). After browsing for a while the system freezes on either browser. It also happens when playing Win 7 Games. I can unfreeze it by going to Task Manager, applications and clicking on the app I am using and clicking on Switch to(the only app I am using). I can then continue surfing. Also if the browser doesn't connect and says the website is unavailable (Firefox latest and previous version) I can shut down and restart and be able to go to the website almost immediately.

    Gigabyte z68p-ds3, 8gb memory, Intel I3-2100,NVIDIA GEForce 8400 gs, Win Exp index 4.4
    Using Verizon Samsung Hotspot WiFi

    Any thoughts

    Steve

  2. #2
    Super Moderator CLiNT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    California & Arizona
    Posts
    6,121
    Thanks
    160
    Thanked 609 Times in 557 Posts
    With the hardware you have why only a 4.4 on the W7 experience index?

  3. #3
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    12,519
    Thanks
    152
    Thanked 1,398 Times in 1,221 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by CLiNT View Post
    With the hardware you have why only a 4.4 on the W7 experience index?
    The nvidia 8400gs is an entry line adapter. I can almost bet that it is the reason for that value.

  4. #4
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Slough, Berkshire UK
    Posts
    924
    Thanks
    55
    Thanked 52 Times in 50 Posts
    May even be the reason for the freezes. Especially if it is plugged in to a x1 PCI slot instead of a PCIe slot.
    Clive

    All typing errors are my own work and subject to patents pending. Except errors by the spell checker. And that has its own patients.

  5. #5
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Central, Michigan
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    The NVIDA8400 is only a 256 meg card. I plan to update it that is the reason for the 4.4 rating

  6. #6
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Central, Michigan
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    When the browser says the website is unavailable or continues to search when I say shutdown I am referring to the browser not the entire system

  7. #7
    Super Moderator CLiNT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    California & Arizona
    Posts
    6,121
    Thanks
    160
    Thanked 609 Times in 557 Posts
    Wifi is incredibly sucky, I like to avoid it whenever possible in favor of a faster connection.
    The card, as anemic as it is, shouldn't be the cause of the freeze-ups.
    Troubleshoot your internet access.

  8. #8
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Have to go to task manager to unfreeze game

    Sorry to resurrect this old thread but I had the same issue and after forever and a video card replacement it ended up being an outdated bios rom on my motherboard. Make sure that all of your bios rom and firmwares are all up to date on your mother board and video card. A detailed account is here: http://www.monkeyhive.com/troubleshooting

  9. #9
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Central, Michigan
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Every time this happens DWM is running and it takes 2 times to stop the service to free up the computer. It starts automatically when the computer is powered up. I changed it to manual start to see if this resolves the problem. Also now running GeForce 630 with 1GB ram. Was still locking after I installed GeForce630

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •