Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Installing xp

  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Omaha, NE, USA
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Installing xp

    Haven't found my problem under search. The hard drive failed completely without warning. The machine was built by a computer instructor so don't have original disks. It has two hard drives; the second one just for files. I changed the jumpers and motherboard cable to make the other drive a single drive. Purchased xp software from ebay; new and made for distribution with a Dell PC. I can't get the software to install. What do I need to do?

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    Welcome to the Lounge. So the PC is a Dell? A Dell branded disk will include a bunch of Dell S/W you do not need. Hard to say what other problems you might have. It's possible the second drive is set to Logical and the OS can't see it. Also possible the disk includes some Dell drivers that are not compatible with your PC. A regular Win XP disk would probably have been preferred. Not sure what you might try at this point.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  3. #3
    Super Moderator CLiNT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    California & Arizona
    Posts
    6,121
    Thanks
    160
    Thanked 609 Times in 557 Posts
    Purchased xp software from ebay; new and made for distribution with a Dell PC. I can't get the software to install. What do I need to do?
    I'll need some clarification on the above;
    What type of disk [exactly] was purchased from eBay?
    What does "new and made for distribution with a Dell PC" mean?

  4. #4
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,792
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 798 Times in 719 Posts
    Also, define "I can't get the software to install". What happens when you try to install?

    Jerry

  5. #5
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Omaha, NE, USA
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    The disk was in a sealed package and the booklet that came with it says for distribution with a new Dell PC only, Microsoft Windows xp Professional version 2002. The disk says Operating System Already Installed On Your Computer. The software is already installed on your computer. Only use this CD to reinstall the OS on a Dell Computer. The disk also has SP2 on the label.

  6. #6
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Omaha, NE, USA
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Nothing. When I turn the computer on I get a "no signal" from the monitor and it remains black when I put the CD into the computer.

  7. #7
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    12,519
    Thanks
    152
    Thanked 1,398 Times in 1,221 Posts
    I would say your problems are much more serious than a software problem. Even without an operating system, the computer should start and you should be able to see a message stating that no operating system could be found. If you don't, you have hardware problems.

  8. #8
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,792
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 798 Times in 719 Posts
    Rui is right on. Recheck your monitor connections both at the PC and at the monitor. If they are both good, disconnect everything except the video card and one stick of memory. If you now get a Bios display, reconnect things one at a time until you find the culprit.

    Jerry

  9. #9
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    If nothing works, there is a good chance the Power Supply is bad. I would think even if the CPU or HD has dies you should see something about the Bios???
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  10. #10
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Omaha, NE, USA
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks for all your help. We will be out of town for two weeks, so will have to follow through on all of your advice later.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •