Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Fishkill, New York, USA
    Posts
    435
    Thanks
    96
    Thanked 35 Times in 31 Posts

    Same Page Sites React Differently in Metro IE versus Desktop IE

    When helping a friend with poor vision fill out info for a Paypal account, the Agree/Submit button remained grey and non-reactive. After checking data input several times and retyping the required info, the Agree/Submt button still was not functioning. Having encountered a similar instance before, I closed the Metro IE and opened the Desktop IE and went to the same page/site. Voila! No problem submitting the required info. The Agree/Submit button was not greyed out upon opening the page and remained so while I filled out the form. When clicking on the button it reacted as expected and we were able to open the account.
    I suspect that others have encountered similar occurences and wonder how prevalent this problem is.

    Rich

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    I wonder if this is because there is an add-on that is non-functional in the Modern IE 10 versus the Desktop IE 10. It seems no add-ons except Flash will work in the Modern IE 10. I am only guessing here as I have set my IE 10 to always open in the Desktop version.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  3. #3
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,568
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,056 Times in 925 Posts
    I think there are many sites that will have to adjust to IE10. I've run into an issue with a banking site that has difficulties with IE10. Joe

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    Some sites I go to actually think IE 10 is out of date and state I should upgrade my browser to the newer version for extra security. I suspect we may see sites, that even after the Oct. 26th release of Win 8, will have problems with IE 10.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  5. #5
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Fishkill, New York, USA
    Posts
    435
    Thanks
    96
    Thanked 35 Times in 31 Posts
    Thank you all for your replies. Hopefully, this will make others aware if they encounter similar problems with Metro IE.

    Rich

  6. #6
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,568
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,056 Times in 925 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by rmonroe36 View Post
    Thank you all for your replies. Hopefully, this will make others aware if they encounter similar problems with Metro IE.

    Rich
    I don't believe the problem is unique to Metro IE 10. I think it is the manner in which sites adjusted for some IE quirk in prior versions that no longer is needed for IE 10.

    Joe

  7. #7
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Fairfax County, Virginia
    Posts
    584
    Thanks
    11
    Thanked 61 Times in 49 Posts
    What does Microsoft think about this? Since you can't install plug-ins in the Metro app, they know and accept that the desktop and Metro versions will function differently in some cases.

    But with no plugins installed, then do the desktop IE10 and the Metro IE10 function the same, and does Microsoft care?

    The desktop IE10 on my system has Shockwave Flash Object installed. It was easy to check. It may be easy to check Metro IE10 too, but I can't figure out how to do it. How do you display the menu bar, or does it have one?

    in any case can someone suggest sites that they have found where the two versions do not behave the same?

  8. #8
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Fishkill, New York, USA
    Posts
    435
    Thanks
    96
    Thanked 35 Times in 31 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by JoeP517 View Post
    I don't believe the problem is unique to Metro IE 10. I think it is the manner in which sites adjusted for some IE quirk in prior versions that no longer is needed for IE 10.

    Joe
    Point well taken!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •