Results 1 to 3 of 3
  1. #1
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Birkirkara, Malta
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Macrium Reflect Backups

    Using the latest version of Macrium Reflect Professional Edition I have up to date images of all my drives, including the Win 8 RP partition. All the backups have ben made from within Win 7. Is there any need for me, when booting into Win 8 RP, to make another backup of the Win 8 partition, and if so should I delete the Win 8 partition backup made in Win 7?

    Advice would be appreciated.

    Thanks and regards, Roy
    OS Dual Boot Windows 10 Pro 64 Bit & Windows 7 Pro With SP1 64 bit. (Intel Core i7 2600K Processor LGA1155-Asus P867 Pro Motherboard-GTX550 Ti DirectCU Graphics Card-Memory 8GB)

    Roy Whitethread

  2. #2
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Manning, South Carolina
    Thanked 1,133 Times in 1,037 Posts

    I see no need to reimage from inside Win 8. I image my laptop which dualboots 2 copies of Win 7 and have never had a problem restoring and booting both copies. I don't however image from within either copy. I use either a copy of MR Free on a bootable {Windows PE} USB Key or my newest method of having a separate partition on my USB Backup HDs that boots the MR Free in Win PE and stores the image on the other partition on the drive. I just think it is better do do your images with out any interference from Windows {the copy being imaged, that is}. YMMV
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!


    VBA Rules!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to RetiredGeek For This Useful Post:

    royw (2012-10-14)

  4. #3
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    Roy, What I do is create all my Images from outside Windows to start. I boot to my Rescue Boot Disk, then create my Images from there. I can include one, 2 or all 3 partitions doing this. I can also Restore any or all the partitions from the Rescue Boot Disk. When I open Acronis, it asks me what OS I wish to Restore. After I choose which OS, it then asks me where to restore to. I choose the partition and choose Proceed, DONE!

    I believe the same holds true for Macrium Reflect.
    Last edited by Medico; 2012-10-14 at 12:24.
    Have a Great Day! Ted

    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)

    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  5. The Following User Says Thank You to Medico For This Useful Post:

    royw (2012-10-14)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts