Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger petesmst's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Cape Town, South Africa
    Posts
    790
    Thanks
    38
    Thanked 43 Times in 33 Posts

    Windows 8 and Norton Ghost V15

    Be advised that Norton Ghost V15 (the latest version) does not work under Windows 8 as at this date. Symantec personnel report "this is being worked on at present". (I have tried Acronis True Image 2013 and it DOES work(!))
    (My Setup: Custom built: 4.00GHz Intel Core i7-6700K CPU; MSI Z170A Gaming Carbon Motherboard (Military Class III); Win 10 Pro (64 bit)-(UEFI-booted); 16GB RAM; 512GB SAMSUNG SD850 PRO SSD; 120GB SAMSUNG 840 SSD; Seagate 2TB Barracuda SATA6G HDD; 2 X GeForceGTX 1070 8GB Graphics Card (SLI); Office 2013 Prof (32-bit); MS Project 2013 (32-bit); Acronis TI 2017 Premium, Norton Internet Security, VMWare Workstation12 Pro). WD My Book 3 1TB USB External Backup Drive). Samsung 24" Curved HD Monitor.

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    I can also attest that Acronis 2013 works well with Win 8.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  3. #3
    Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    1,168
    Thanks
    44
    Thanked 134 Times in 115 Posts
    I installed Norton Ghost v15 on Windows 8 and it did run - sort of.

    There were repeated errors when attempting to backup the boot partition (on a dual booted machine). The main OS and data drives were backed up OK, but due to the error messages, I didn't feel entirely comfortable and removed it. Others may take a different view, but in my book, a backup tool needs to be extremely robust - little point finding your backups are broken just when you really need them.
    In God we trust; all others must bring data.

    - William Edwards Deming. 1900 - 1993

  4. #4
    Bronze Lounger DrWho's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Central Florida
    Posts
    1,501
    Thanks
    30
    Thanked 205 Times in 163 Posts

    Cool

    I find it somewhere beyond Incredible. that the latest Version of Ghost does not work with Win-8,
    when the old DOS version, "Ghost 11.5" works like a charm.
    It works exactly like it did on XP, Vista and Win-7. No difference!

    Equally incredible, is that experts from Symantec deny that there ever was a Ghost 11.5. Go figure.

    A good backup program is like a good woman, , , once you find one, you want to stay with it.
    I've been using a DOS version of Ghost, since 1997, and I'm sticking with it.

    Cheers Mates!
    The Doctor
    Experience is truly the best teacher.

    Backup! Backup! Backup! GHOST Rocks!

  5. #5
    Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    1,168
    Thanks
    44
    Thanked 134 Times in 115 Posts
    I think the reason why Gost 11.5 works with Windows 8 (and yes Ghost 11.5 does exist), while things like Ghost 15 do not, is because I believe it runs outwith Windows from pre boot (PE Boot or Dos) environment. As such it does not have to trigger a VSS capture or worry about shadow streams on a live mounted NTFS volume - it can simply access the volume from the pre-environment.

    Put simply, it does not run from within Windows, but accesses the disk outside of the native OS.

    The downside of that is that it can't be run as a full backup suite from inside Windows. Ghost 15 on the otherhand has a management console that makes it ideal for running as part of an integrated daily (or more frequent) backup solution while Windows is running. It's horses for courses really. I prefer to run my backups from within Windows so I can schedule them overnight, but any other way that grabs a verified snapshot is equally valid.

    Ghost 11.5 was bundled as part of the Symantec Solutions Suite 2.5, which put a wrapper round Ghost 11.5 to run under the Windows OS. That might be part of the reason why Symantec do not confirm its existence - one couldn't purchase Ghost 11.5 as a standalone application; the user must buy Symantec Solutions Suite 2.5 to obtain it, or un-bundle it from a manufactures hard disk cloning program. I recall Seagate had a cloning tool that used Ghost 11.5 at its core.

    It would be interesting to see if Symantec Solutions Suite 2.5 can run from inside Windows 8 as a native application rather than having to drop down into a pre-boot environment.

    There was a similar issue for Ghost 14 and Windows 7. It had to be upgraded to Ghost 15 to work correctly.
    In God we trust; all others must bring data.

    - William Edwards Deming. 1900 - 1993

  6. #6
    Bronze Lounger DrWho's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Central Florida
    Posts
    1,501
    Thanks
    30
    Thanked 205 Times in 163 Posts
    It would be interesting to see if Symantec Solutions Suite 2.5 can run from inside Windows 8 as a native application rather than having to drop down into a pre-boot environment.
    It won't! I tried.

    Experience is truly the best teacher.

    Backup! Backup! Backup! GHOST Rocks!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •