Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 18
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Tucson
    Posts
    11
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Lost Bing search from desktop address bar

    I haven't been able to do an internet search from the desktop taskbar for a couple weeks now. I've checked settings in Internet Explorer 9 where everything appears to be correct and I don't see a recent windows update that might have caused this problem. I checked the Microsoft forums but didn't find anything relevant there.
    Has anyone else run into this problem and/or got a fix?
    Last edited by cmnthead; 2012-09-19 at 20:57.

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    20,616
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 625 Times in 558 Posts
    Welcome to the Lounge!!!

    Do you get an error message?
    Did you change the default search provider?
    Did you change the default browser?
    Have you changed or added any software recently?

    Joe

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to JoeP517 For This Useful Post:

    cmnthead (2012-09-20)

  4. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Tucson
    Posts
    11
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    No error messages. I changed the search engine from bing to google then back again during troubleshooting. No changes to the browser-has always been IE9. I downloaded 7zip Free a few days ago then deleted it but I already had the problem then. No other changes.

  5. #4
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    4,875
    Thanks
    68
    Thanked 557 Times in 505 Posts
    You said you checked the settings in IE9. Specifically, did you go to Gear icon > Manage Addons > Search Providers and verify that Bing was in the top position and the box next to Search in the address bar was checked?

    Jerry

  6. #5
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Tucson
    Posts
    11
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I also did a non-destructive reinstall of WIN 7 Pro 32 bit about a week ago to remedy the problem but it didn't help.

  7. #6
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Tucson
    Posts
    11
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Yes, Jerry, I checked those specific settings and they were OK.

    David

  8. #7
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    4,875
    Thanks
    68
    Thanked 557 Times in 505 Posts
    Search the registry for Autosearch. Make sure all IE9 related entries are set to 1.

    Jerry

  9. The Following User Says Thank You to jwitalka For This Useful Post:

    cmnthead (2012-09-20)

  10. #8
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Tucson
    Posts
    11
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I went to regedit but I can't find Autosearch.

    David

  11. #9
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    2,839
    Thanks
    88
    Thanked 347 Times in 312 Posts
    Why not reinstall Bing Desktop?

    Bruce

  12. The Following User Says Thank You to BruceR For This Useful Post:

    cmnthead (2012-09-20)

  13. #10
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Tucson
    Posts
    11
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Jerry, I found autosearch and reset the IE9 entries to 1. No change.
    Bruce, I haven't ever installed the Bing desktop. The search function has always been available before in the taskbar address bar.

    I'm stumped. David

  14. #11
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    2,839
    Thanks
    88
    Thanked 347 Times in 312 Posts
    You said desktop address bar in the title. If this is the Address Toolbar and you type a search term into it, does a pop-up bubble appear saying Search for "search term"?

    Bruce

  15. #12
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Tucson
    Posts
    11
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Yes to the pop-up but when I click on it, it still runs as if it's a web address.

  16. #13
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Tucson
    Posts
    11
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I have a feeling I've caused some confusion. I'm not talking about the address bar at the top of my Internet Explorer "home" page. I'm talking about the windows taskbar at the bottom of the "desktop" and the address toolbar that can be added to it.
    Last edited by cmnthead; 2012-09-20 at 16:53.

  17. #14
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    4,875
    Thanks
    68
    Thanked 557 Times in 505 Posts
    I assume you added the address toolbar to the taskbar and this is what you are using. I don't use it myself but I added it for test purposes and it doesn't bring up the search page for me either when I just hit enter.
    When I clicked on the dropdown arrow on the right side, a search option appeared and clicking on that got my default search page in IE9.
    Jerry

  18. #15
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Tucson
    Posts
    11
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    When I click the down arrow on the right side of the address bar in my taskbar all I get is a list of sites or searches I've entered. I don't get any options. I do get the options when I click the down arrow in the address bar that's in Internet Explorer.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •